PowerStrip

Discussion in 'privacy general' started by acc001, Oct 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acc001

    acc001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    PowerStrip v3.50 build451 i recently installed. Ran SpySweeper with lastest definitions. All it found was PowerStrip as a problem 1 software with 15 traces for its exe and dll files. Is this a known problem, what about PowerStrip rent version v3.59. Has anyone else come across this one, search of the forum found nothing.

    EDIT: To Moderators or Admin
    If this was posted in the wrong forum, can you move it to where it should be thank you.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2006
  2. SystemJunkie

    SystemJunkie Resident Conspiracy Theorist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    1,500
    Location:
    Germany
    I also have power strip installed, seems to come with ati drivers, many anti-spyware alarms, is it not only a vga tweaking utility?
     
  3. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    It has been deemed 'Adware/Spyware'!
     
  4. SystemJunkie

    SystemJunkie Resident Conspiracy Theorist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    1,500
    Location:
    Germany
    If it would be that dangerous AntiVirus companies would have updated their fingerprints. Something is wrong with it. It must be a legit app too.
     
  5. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
  6. SystemJunkie

    SystemJunkie Resident Conspiracy Theorist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    1,500
    Location:
    Germany
    Are we talking about the same app?

    I talk about Entechs Power Strip, it is like NVidia ntune, but
    unfortunately located at the same place of Power Strip Adware I guess.?!
     
  7. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    teh first link is for the legitimate PowerStrip utility. the next two links are for the powerstrip spyware.

    two different things.

    the installer for teh powerstrip utility came clean at virustotal.
     
  8. SystemJunkie

    SystemJunkie Resident Conspiracy Theorist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    1,500
    Location:
    Germany
    SO when I would make my Antispy tool and I would have the choice of preventing false positives then I would not scan /PowerStrip directory. But NoAdware, ScanSpyware, MaxAntispy and many others are not my opinion. This leads to mass false positives and paranoia, not good..
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.