Post your x64 Security Setup

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by SafetyFirst, Jan 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Thanks 1chaoticadult.:)
     
  2. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,321
    Location:
    USA
    No problem :D :thumb:
     
  3. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,201
    On WIN XP I usually 'rely' on a security suite.
    'Rely' isn't the best word since I use common sense, a lot of caution and an imaging setup.

    Still, a suite (mostly a firewall plus AV) offers some protection.

    On WIN 7 64 bit this type of software is less effective because the AV vendors have limited or no access to the kernel.
    I understand a HIPS can be bypassed.

    If I wanted to 'rely' on a security suite for my WIN 7 64 bit PRO, what measures could I take to deal with these shortcomings without making things complicated ?

    Opinions ?
     
  4. No_script

    No_script Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Posts:
    97
    Uninstall Windows if you want to be safer. If someone is out to get you, not much you can do.
     
  5. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Use Software restriction policy (your on PRO might as well use it) in the following settings:

    Security Levels: set basic user as default
    Additonal rules: none use the default
    Enforcement
    - All software files
    - All users except Admins
    - Ignore certificate rules
    Designated file types: don't change, use the default
    Trusted Publishers: dont change, use the default

    Add registry trick to install MSI's as ADMIN (safe text below as MSIasADMIN.REG)
    ----------------------------------------
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Msi.Package\Shell\runas]
    "HasLUAShield"=""

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Msi.Package\shell\runas\Command]
    @=hex(2):22,00,25,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,52,00,6f,00,6f,00,74,\
    00,25,00,5c,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,33,00,32,00,5c,00,6d,00,\
    73,00,69,00,65,00,78,00,65,00,63,00,2e,00,65,00,78,00,65,00,22,00,20,00,2f,\
    00,69,00,20,00,22,00,25,00,31,00,22,00,20,00,25,00,2a,00,00,00
    ----------------------------------------
    ===> effect you can only install software by running it as ADMIN, no risk for shoot in the foot (social engineering) or drive by's

    Install EMET 3.0 for all internet facing software and plug-ins (e.g Adobe Reader).
    ===> effect you are pretty good secured against memory based intrusions

    Install 64 bit version of MSE
    ===> effect, same company AV, Moneysoft should know how to deal with kernel limitation

    Use IE64, make some adjustments in GPEDIT to harden IE (see picture)
    ===> effect, no fiddling with security features of IE


    You are done with your Microsoft suite :argh:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 20, 2012
  6. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    It's in my sig.
     
  7. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    my first post in this thread:)
    windows 7 home premium
    Eset AV 5
    Rollback RX
    Hitmanpro
    SUMo
    Firefox with ABP and FB
     
  8. IBadget

    IBadget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Waipahu, HI
    On Win 7 x64 I am using AdAware Antivirus Free and BufferZone Pro Free.
     
  9. STONEMAN

    STONEMAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Posts:
    99
    Location:
    London,South Of The River
    Webroot SecureAnywhere Essentials
    Sandboxie
    ShadowDefender
     
  10. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,321
    Location:
    USA
    Network:
    Router
    SPI firewall turned on
    Norton ConnectSafe

    Realtime Protection:
    Windows SmartScreen
    Windows Defender
    Windows Firewall

    System Hardening -- Windows 8 64bit:
    UAC on Max
    Disabled some services
    EMET:
    DEP Always On
    SEHOP Always On
    ASLR Always On
    Certain exe's forced with EMET

    Internet Explorer 10 Release Preview
    Fanboy Adblock & Tracking TPLs
    Enhanced Protection Mode
    SmartScreen Filter
    Block Third-Party Cookies
    DuckDuckGo Default Search Provider

    Backup:
    Windows Backup & Restore
    Cobian Backup
     
  11. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    I've upgraded from Mbam free to Mbam Pro. :)

    I can't wait for Mbam 64bit Pro. :D
     
  12. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    still with my favorite 2.
     
  13. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    Its late but Thx for the tweak kees1958
    I always amaze with your registry knowledge :thumb:
     
  14. Function

    Function Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    UK
    Is there a release date for it? I have the paid 32 bit version at the moment.
     
  15. IBadget

    IBadget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Waipahu, HI
    I dropped BufferZone Pro Free because it was causing Silverlight to hang. I now use AVG Free. I trust AVG Linkscanner to stop exploits cold.
     
  16. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    I'm very happy to be back with Opera! :D

    Mouse gesters were the cause of my "problems" with Opera. Disabled them. :rolleyes:

    I'm running Opera 64 bit. :)

    BTW, there is no substitute for Opera!
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2012
  17. newbino

    newbino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    460
    Win 7 Pro
    Windows Firewall + Windows Firewall Notifier
    EMET
    Sandboxie
    AppGuard
    MSE incoming (write) only
    +
    HitmanPro on demand, daily scan
    MBAM on demand, weekly scan
     
  18. ShockWaves

    ShockWaves Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    United States
    Mine is in my signature.
     
  19. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    275
    I have a Compaq pc that is Windows 7 and 64-bit. I use ESET NOD32, Superantispyware Pro, and the regular Windows firewall. So far so good. Really like ESET.
     
  20. IBadget

    IBadget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Waipahu, HI
    I dropped AVG because their LinkScanner was preventing Java from working properly. Now I'm using Comodo Internet Security 5.10 with Enhanced Protection enabled.
     
  21. boonie

    boonie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Posts:
    238
    Making the switch away from 32bit (and DefenseWall :( and Zemana).
    So for right now:

    Resident and Sandboxing:
    MBAM Pro (trial)
    SandBoxie Paid

    On Demand
    EAM
    Hitman Pro
    SARDU Boot Disc

    System Hardening
    UAC Silent
    EMET
    Spyware Blaster

    Backup/Recovery
    IFW for Imaging

    Wanted to test SpyShelter, but I can't connect to the site. Down?
     
  22. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    946
    Location:
    Canada
    See my sig.
     
  23. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    I use the antirootkit built into MSE. (If any)
     
  24. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    I didn't know the admin part :O:O
    *Bookmarked*
     
  25. ESQ_ERRANT

    ESQ_ERRANT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Posts:
    72
    I tried SANDBOXIE on my WIN7 PRO x64. The software destroyed my OS. I had to reformat. For me, I find it best to use my VMWARE WORKSTATION if I am going to be doing much websurfing.
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2012
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.