Post your computer specs!

Discussion in 'hardware' started by CrusherW9, Jan 8, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    516
    Location:
    United States
    I see a lot of people on here who are running ancient(to me) computers and refuse to upgrade. I can't be the only hardware enthusiast on here so post your specs!

    Desktop:
    - CPU: i7-4770k delidded and OC'd to 4.6GHz core, 4.4GHz un-core. Phanteks PH-TC14PE cooler with Liquid Pro Ultra thermal paste
    - RAM: Corsair XMS 16gb 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 kit
    - GPU/s: 2x EVGA GTX650 TI Boost's
    - Hard Drives: Samsung 250gb 840 EVO boot drive, 3x WD 1tb Black "other" drives
    - PSU: OCZ ZT 750w
    - Case: Corsair 600T
    - OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64

    Laptop:
    - CPU: i7-2630qm
    - RAM: 8gb 1600MHz
    - GPU: Intel HD3000/AMD 6770m (switchable)
    - Hard Drive: 640gb
    - Screen: 15.6" 1366x768
    - Type: HP DV6-60xx Quad
    - OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2014
  2. guest

    guest Guest

    - Type: Toshiba Satellite L840 something something R
    - CPU: Intel Core i5-3210M @2,5GHz, 3M cache
    - RAM: 4GB DDR3 1600MHz SDRAM
    - GPU: AMD Radeon HD 7670M
    - HDD: Can't be sure. Either 640GB or 750GB SATA :doubt:
    - Screen: 14" 1366 x 768 LED
    - OS: Windows 8.0 Pro 64-bit (originally Windows 8.0 Standard pre-installed)
     
  3. musings4

    musings4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    21
    -Type: HP Pavillion G7 Laptop
    -CPU: AMD A6-3420M Quad Core @ 1.5 GHZ and turbo boosted to 2.4 GHZ. When overclocked, baseline is 2.2 GHZ and turbo at 3.0 GHZ via k10stat
    -GPU: AMD Radeon 6520G
    -RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600 SDRAM
    -HDD: Toshiba SATA Drive @ 500 GB
    -Screen: 17'6" 1600x900
    -OS: Windows 8.1 64 bit; it was initially installed with Windows 7 Home Premium w/ 4GB of RAM
     
  4. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,331
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Is there a need ?
     
  5. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    516
    Location:
    United States
    I'm going to steal Overclock.net's slogan, "The pursuit of performance!" :cool:
     
  6. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Laptop: MSI GT70 0NC
    CPU: Intel Core i7-3610QM
    RAM: 4GB DDR3 1600MHz SDRAM x4
    GPU: Intel HD Graphics 4000/NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670M
    Drives: 128GB SSD + 750GB HDD
    Screen: 17.3" 1920x1080
    OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64

    Netbook: Acer Aspire One 532h
    CPU: Intel Atom N450
    RAM: 2GB DDR2 800MHz SDRAM
    GPU: Integrated
    Drives: 160GB HDD
    Screen: 10.1" 1024x600
    OS: Linux Mint 13 XFCE
     
  7. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,331
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    I have to admit to focus more on efficency, had plenty of processing power for my needs for years, also prefer having a number of specialised machines than trying to have a machine do all my tasks.
     
  8. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,250
    Here are the specs for the fastest of my five laptops. The specs are very basic compared to current laptops. But, even with a 5 1/2 year old processor it really is more than fast enough do anything I need it for. Even my Compal HEL80 which is 30% slower runs fast enough for me.

    Laptop:
    - CPU: Core 2 Duo P8600 2.40GHz
    - RAM: 4gb 1600MHz
    - GPU: Radeon HD 3400
    - Hard Drive: 500gb 5400 RPM
    - Screen: 14.1" 1280x800
    - Type: Lenovo ThinkPad T400
    - OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
     
  9. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    Desktop:
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition, Six-Core 3.3GHz, 3.7GHz Turbo Core
    RAM: Komputerbay 16GB
    GPU/s: AMD/ATI R9 270 2GB GDDR5
    Hard Drives: Kingston HyperX SSD 128GB, X1 WD 300GB VelociRaptor HDD, X2 WD 500GB Caviar HDDs
    PSU: Corsair 1000 Watt
    Case: Zalman Z9 U3 ATX Mid-tower
    OS: Windows 8.1 Professional x64

    The above is my main rig, Which I am on the majority of the time.

    For those not worth speccing here at the forums, I also own a Macbook Pro, a Windows 8.1 laptop and a netbook with Ubuntu. I rarely use them now a days, but I have them for those Just in case moments.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2014
  10. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    516
    Location:
    United States
    Oh... an AMD guy... :p
     
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    Me too. One hundred percent. ;)
     
  12. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Crusher Im going to steal your layout. My next laptop will be something similar to the new Gigabyte Aorus.

    Laptop:
    - CPU: i7-4700MQ
    - RAM: 12gb 1600MHz
    - GPU: Intel HD4600/NVIDIA GTX770 (switchable)
    - Hard Drive: 120Gb Samsung Evo SSD, 750Gb 7200RPM Western Digital Scorpio Black
    - NIC: Intel AC7260 WLAN, Realtek PCIe GBE Gigabit LAN
    - Audio: Yulong Audio Sabre DA8 DAC/Amp with Optical Nyrius Toslink Cable
    - Screen: 15.4" 1920x1080
    - Type: Sager NP8235
    - OS: Windows 7 Pro x64
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2014
  13. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    I only have notebooks and this is the latest:

    Notebook
    CPU: i7 processor 3635QM (2.40 GHz up to 3.40 GHz)
    RAM: 8GB DDR3 at 1600 MHz
    Graphic: Intel HD 4000 and AMD Radeon HD 8870 M with 2GB GDDR5 memory (switchable graphics)
    HDD: 1TB S-ATAII
    Screen: 15.6” 1920x1080
    Type: Samsung series 7 Chronos NT770Z5E-S78
    OS: Windows 8 (64bit)
     
  14. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806

    Haha, I actually favor both Intel and AMD equally, I just decided to go AMD with my build.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2014
  15. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,087
    My specs are as follows:

    Desktop
    CPU: Intel Core i7 3770 @ 3,4 Ghz
    RAM: 8 GB DDR3 @ 800 Mhz
    GPU: Intel HD Graphics 4000
    SSD: OCZ Vertex 4 128GB
    HDD: Western Digital 2 TB
    Screen: Samsung SyncMaster 2494HM (1920x1080)

    Regards, hqsec
     
  16. Krysis

    Krysis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    DownUnder
    Laptop:
    - Type: MSI CR620
    - CPU: 1st gen CoreI3 350M
    - RAM: 8GB DDR3
    - Hard Drive: OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD
    - Screen: 15.6" 1366x768
    - OS: (See my sig)

    Cheers :thumb:
     
  17. Banzi

    Banzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    368
    Location:
    Scotland
    Here's mine :)

    Case - COOLERMASTER CM STORM ENFORCER
    CPU - AMD BULLDOZER EIGHT CORE FX-8150 (3.60GHz/8MB CACHE/AM3+)
    Motherboard - ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX - TUF SERIES MILITARY GRADE MOTHERBOARD
    Memory - 16GB KINGSTON HYPER-X GENESIS DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz, X.M.P (4 x 4GB KIT)
    GPU - 2GB AMD RADEON™ HD7870 - DVI,HDMI,2 mDP - DX® 11, Eyefinity 4 Capable
    HDD1 - 120GB INTEL® 520 SERIES SSD, SATA 6 Gb/s (upto 550MB/sR | 520MB/sW)
    HDD2 - 1TB Samsung F3
    PSU - CORSAIR 750W ENTHUSIAST SERIES™ TX750 V2-80 PLUS® BRONZE
    Sound Card - Asus Xonar DG 5.1 SoundCard & Headphone AMP
     
  18. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    516
    Location:
    United States
    Ah so you're running the card for dsp and then the amp for quality. How do you like that setup? Does the DG handle everything you'd like it to? I was thinking about going the same route but kind of decided not to since I don't really game with headphones and there aren't really any 3D technologies for speakers.
     
  19. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 + Cooler Master Hyper EVO 212 with Artic Silver
    Motherboard: Gigabyte P35-DS3L
    RAM: 2x1GB OCZ 6400 5-5-5-15 + 2x2GB Corsair 6400 5-5-5-15
    GPU: AMD Radeon HD7850
    PSU: Cooler Master Extreme EX2 475W
    HDD: WDl 250GB and my dead WD Velociraptor 300GB.

    Im thinking of getting another Velociraptor or a new WD Blue 1TB single platter.
     
  20. roady

    roady Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    262
    Desktop:
    Case:CoolerMaster Stacker STC-T01
    Casefans:1 X CM Cross flow fan,3 X 120 mm
    PSU:Sapphire PurePSU 950 W (Enermax Revolution 85+ clone?)
    Mobo:Asus P6X58D-E
    CPU:Intel Core i7-950
    CPU cooler:Scythe Mugen 2 rev b
    RAM:Corsair Vengeance 12GB 1600 MHz DDR3
    SSD:Kingston SSDNow V100 SV100S2/256G
    Harddisks:Hitachi DeskStar 7K3000, WD Raptor 150,2 X WD Caviar Green 640
    GPU:XFX Radeon HD 6990
    Monitor:3 x LG W2253 (eyefinity)
    Burner:LG BH08LS20 Blu-Ray writer
    Speakers:Hercules XPS 2.0 80 DJ Monitor
    Sound:Realtek High Definition Audio onboard
    Mouse:Logitech G9X
    Keyboard:Corsair Vengeance K90
    OS:Windows 8.1 Pro

    Laptop:
    Asus N76VJ
    Processor:Intel® Core™ i7 3630QM
    OS:Windows 8.1 Pro
    Chipset:Intel® HM76 Chipset
    Memory:8GB DDR3 1600 MHz SDRAM
    Display:17.3" Full HD (1920x1080)/Wide View Angle LED Backlight
    Graphic:NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 635M with 2GB DDR3 VRAM
    Storage:2.5" SATA Dual HDD 750GB 5400 (system disk soon to be replaced by SSD)
    Optical Drive:Super-Multi DVD
    Card Reader:3 -in-1 card reader ( SD/ MS/ MS Pro/ MMC)
    Camera:HD Web Camera
    Networking:Integrated 802.11 b/g/n
    Built-in Bluetooth™ V4.0
    10/100/1000 Base T
    Interface:1 x Microphone-in jack
    1 x Headphone-out jack
    1 x VGA port/Mini D-sub 15-pin for external monitor
    4 x USB 3.0 port(s)
    1 x RJ45 LAN Jack for LAN insert
    1 x HDMI
    1 x SPIDIF speaker out
    Audio:Built-in Speakers And Microphone
    Bang & Olufsen ICEpower®
    MaxxAudio support

    ATM,not in a hurry to replace either 1 of them....they both still can handle their job quite decently...:)
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2014
  21. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,250
    I feel the need to add, that I don't refuse to upgrade, I have just have absolutely no need to do so.

    The last time I purchased a new laptop was 7 years ago. At the time it was quite expensive - $1,500. Since then, I've purchased several second hand laptops, but no more new ones. My seven year old laptop which I am running Windows 7 on, surprisingly is more than fast enough to do anything I need.

    If I wanted to play the latest 3D games, then I would need a much more powerful laptop, but I don't use it for gaming. I rarely use it these days, as I have a smaller laptop (14" vs 15") which I find to be a more convenient size to use when it comes to portability. This laptop cost be about $170 on eBay. After purchasing it I replaced the hard drive with a larger one, and I think I may have added more RAM, and probably soon I will add more RAM again. This laptop is around 50% faster than my older laptop (based on benchmark results for the CPU), but I never find the older laptop to be slow.

    My laptops sometimes struggle a bit when playing some high resolution videos. But, that is the only instance in which they do so.

    I even installed Windows 8 on an aging Sony laptop which cost well under $100 from eBay, and it ran very fast.

    So, no I don't "refuse" to upgrade, I don't upgrade because it seems like a pointless waste of money.
     
  22. Banzi

    Banzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    368
    Location:
    Scotland
    The sound card sounds great to me, has quite a few settings in the Xonar DG Audio control software, music & games sound really good with it, only issue I have noticed is that in Win 8-8.1 the sound is a bit quieter than I would like especially the bass.
     
  23. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I have the same except for a couple of things.

    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
    Drive: 500GB HDD
     
  24. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Really, even the CPU? How's Windows 8.1 running on it?
     
  25. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Yes exactly that model with everything the same. Win 8.1 is running great. You've upgraded the RAM to 2GB right, 'cause it comes with 1GB? I have the Red color one. What color is yours? Since the model is old, have you cleaned the inside especially the fan yet? I've cleaned it last month and experienced the great hassle first hand. I broke the keyboard/touchpad connector in the process.

    Had to install some of the drivers from Acer's website after installing Win 8.1. Drivers upto Win7 is available in the website. But they run fine in 8.1.

    You can't run apps in Win8.1 due to the low screen resolution in AO532h. Only can run the desktop. There's a way though. Have to modify a registry key and restart. Then the system loads with everything in the screen smaller and tinier. Still can see everything clearly but not as convenient as normal.

    I've also replaced my battery last year. Now the netbook is good as new.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.