Possible to have two versions of TI (8 and 10) installed at same time?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jaygo, Jan 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jaygo

    jaygo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Posts:
    40
    Hi,

    I'm a registered TI 8 user for a long time. Is it possible to upgrade to TI 10, and keep TI 8 on my PC until I'm sure TI 10 works for me? It occurs to me that the TI 10 install routine may not permit TI 8 to remain and I thought I should get the answer to that question, in advance.

    If I could install TI 10 in another folder, not the one TI 8 is in, and have the ability to run either version, I could have my cake and eat it too, so to speak. I realize restoring an image made with TI8 proably won't work using TI10, and vice-versa, but I can keep my TI image files straight for the "test period."

    Once I can verify TI 10 works OK and I restore some images successfully with TI 10, then I would feel comfortable uninstalling TI 8. Thanx in advance for your thoughts. jaygo
     
  2. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi jaygo,

    Not a good idea. TI installers often get very confused. The results could be unpredictable. You may not even get a properly working TI10 out of it.

    You should make an image of your system with TI8 before you do anything with TI10. Then uninstall TI8 before installing TI10. If TI10 doesn't meet you expectations, you can restore the image of the system with TI8. The only disadvantage here would be you would need to decide if you like TI10 before you make too many other changes to your system. You could also uninstall TI8, install TI10 and reinstall TI8 if needed. The disadvantage here would be that the uninstall of both programs is a little sloppy.

    BTW, TI10 should be able to restore your TI8 images. TI8 won't recognize the TI10 images.
     
  3. jaygo

    jaygo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Posts:
    40
    Mustang,

    Thanks for your detailed advice; it was spot on. I guess the way I should look at it is, if TI10 isn't buggy (I'll have to read the forum), then it's not likely that I would ever want to go back to 8. And like you said, if I have a TI8 image, I'm covered (subject to changes, as you mentioned, which I could save on another hard drive). Thanx. jaygo
     
  4. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    You can also use TI 8 to clone your system to another hard drive. Do your TI 10 experimenting on this other drive.
     
  5. jaygo

    jaygo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Posts:
    40
    Ralphie,

    Good idea; thanx. jaygo
     
  6. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    I think, as a rule of thumb, whatever doesn't work in ATI10, didn't work in earlier versions either (if the relevent feature ws included in the earlier version).

    There are some exceptions but I don't think there are major ones. Someone step up and rattle my old memory if I'm incorrect here.
     
  7. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    You could always use your version 8 rescue cd (you did make one?) to make images of your drive on a regular basis, just in case you want to go back
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello jaygo,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please note that as it was mentioned it is not recommended to install Acronis True Image 8.0 and Acronis True Image 10.0 Home on the same machine at the same time.

    As for the image compatibility, please have a look at this previous post of mine that should answer your question.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.