PortExpert - Cybersecurity at your finger tips

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Kyle_Katarn, Dec 30, 2014.

  1. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
    Dear all,

    ---
    Disclaimer for those who do not know me :
    I'm the developper of many security related software ans active member of this forum.
    See my posts here :
    SUMo
    DUMo
    Startup Sentinel
    [...]

    I'm here to get feedback from you in order to improve my software AND to give assistance if needed.
    ---​

    I've just released the very first version of PortExpert - Cybersecurity at your finger tips

    PortExpert give you a detailed vision of your personnal computer cybersecurity. It automatically monitors all applications connected to the Internet and give you all the information you might need to identify potential threats to your system.
    • Monitor of application using TCP/UDP communications
    • User-friendly interface
    • Identifies remote servers (WhoIs service)
    • Allows to open containing folder of any applications
    • Allow to easily search for more info online
    • Automatic identification of related service : FTP, HTTP, HTTPS,...
    • Capability to show/hide system level processes
    • Capability to show/hide loopbacks
    • Time freeze function

    http://www.kcsoftwares.com/images/PortExpert_screen_s.png

    Web page : http://www.kcsoftwares.com/?portexpert

    Please post feedback or use this thread for any questions !
     
  2. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,893
    I just installed...see [some of], attached screenshots...

    ScreenShot_PortExpert_v1.0_install_02.gif ScreenShot_PortExpert_v1.0_install_04.gif ScreenShot_PortExpert_v1.0_install_06.gif ScreenShot_PortExpert_v1.0_install_13.gif
     
  3. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
    That's the installer.... nothing abnormal in your VoodooShield message.

    In the "runtime error" permanent ?
     
  4. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    UK
    I'm trying the zip version on win 7 x86 no problems, looks very promising so far :)
     
  5. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,893
    I know, but at least it was doing what it is supposed to, i.e. warn me about [potentially an unwanted] a new install. ;)

    About the "runtime error", probably just a hiccup...see the VoodooShield log.

    P.S. I am running XP PRO

    ScreenShot_PortExpert_v1.0_install_18.gif
     
  6. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
    Thank you !
    Should you have any feature request or bug to report, feel free to do it in this thread or directly here : http://www.kcsoftwares.com/bugs (where you'll see that i already have some work in the pipe :) )
     
  7. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    580
    Norton Internet Security 2014-warning.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
  9. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    UK
  10. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,089
    I have one problem - it doesn't show me a process name that established connection. Instead it shows "Failed" status. It happens even if I run it as Administrator.

    upload_2015-1-1_8-0-1.png
     
  11. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe
    Be carefully during the installation: it asks if you want to install BoBrowser adware.
     
  12. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
  13. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
    Very strange ! According to its blank title bar it seems that it is even unable to access its own properties on your system. Is it running in a sandboxed environment ?
     
  14. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,089
    No, it's not run in sandbox. It shows process name for uTorrent and Outlook, but not Chrome and other system processes.
    I've checked Integrity level of PortExpert.exe and it got High integrity level when run as Administrator.

    upload_2015-1-1_12-37-27.png
     
  15. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
    Is any other user affected by the same issue ?
     
  16. Windows_Security

    Windows_Security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    3,095
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Personal wish list

    in main window show
    a) file location of process
    b) autostart location when applicable
    c) VT scan analyses of process

    Detailed info per connection (shown after click through)
    a) Chrome reputation info
    b) Malware bytes IP reputation info
    c) Phistank info

    thx Kees
     
  17. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
  18. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,893
    I have just tried the portable version in another snapshot.

    ScreenShot_PortExpert_v1.0_portable_03.gif
     
  19. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,089
    Yes, I'm also using portable (ZIP) version.
     
  20. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
  21. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,893
    "What's in the title bar ?" Do you mean the first line I have obscured?
     
  22. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
    No, the title bar for the main window (blank on Minimalist' screenshot)
     
  23. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,893
    It says PortExpert v1.0.0.0
     
  24. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
    OK, that's as expected :)
     
  25. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,089
    Just to clarify - mine shows title bar also. I just maximized the window, so that's why it's not shown on my attachment.
     
Loading...