Portable Firefox browser?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by JerryM, Jun 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Not sure where this should go. This morning on the radio I heard Kim Komando talk abouta FF portable version, but so far I have not found it. The discussion revolved around the bookmarks when you do not have access to your machine.

    I can solve that problem, but curious about the portable FF to be used on a thumbdrive. When I googled it, there were some sites that indicated it could be downloaded there, but none were Mozilla.

    Anyone know where to get it, and any experience using it?

    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  2. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Great little app. Works as advertised. Have it on all 3 of my thumb drives and it will be added to my 4th 4 gig when it arrives.
    It is not available through Mozilla. I believe this would be considered the official download site.
     
  3. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Hi ThunderZ,

    Thanks for the link and info. I am downloading it now. I assume you put it on a thumbdrive, and when on a public computer you would just install the thumbdrive, call it up, start FF and us it from there. Is that correct?

    I assume you can import the Bookmarks, passwords, etc.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Yes you just start Fx from the thumbdrive.

    And yes you can import bookmarks, passwords, etc.
     
  5. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I installed it on the thumbdrive, and it opens OK.
    However the Help file directed that if I wanted to copy local settings I should,

    quote"Your local Firefox profile is usually installed in C:\Documents and Settings\[user]\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\default.o_O\ Just copy the contents of that folder (except the cache directories) to the FirefoxPortable\Data\profile directory. Then, and this is important, delete the file FirefoxPortableSettings.ini within the FirefoxPortable\Data\settings directory, if there is one."end quote

    I do not have any \Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles under application data. Where else would it be?
    I am getting sleepy.:eek:

    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  6. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Try C:\Program Files \Mozilla Firefox\defaults. I set my thumb drives up differently, liter, then on my tower so I did not use that method. Sorry I can not be of more help.
     
  7. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Thanks, it is there, but scripts seemed to cause a problem. However, since I have imported my bookmarks, and all is working well, I am not concerned. I am a little curious why it is not in doc and settings by default.

    Thanks again.
    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  8. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    I have read several articles through out the Net that it is not uncommon for it to be located differently from install to install. I have just never dug into the reason(s) why.
     
  9. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Thanks. I also note that it is also not there on my laptop.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  10. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Mine is also located in the C:\Program Files location. Have not fired up my lap top or looked at the Mrs. PC. Curious? :rolleyes: Yes. Anything to worry about? o_O I do`t believe so. Perhaps check out their Support Forum I am sure they will shed some light on it.
     
  11. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I also do not think is is a problem, but just a matter of curiosity. The Support Forum is an excellent suggestion.
    Thanks.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.