Portable App questions - Which do you prefer, & Why?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by jonono, Dec 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jonono

    jonono Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Posts:
    28
    Thanks to JRViejo for the post here :

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1765142&postcount=5

    that discusses some differences between portable Opera releases from portableapps.com vs. opera-usb.com.

    Would some folks kindly share their preferences between these 2 "companies", and their reasons for choosing?

    and also - what is the performance of portables vs installed apps?
    even when used on a standard machine / non-portable scenario?

    ...from my limited experiments, they seem to take just a little longer to start up, but then seem to run as fast as an installed version.

    once loaded into memory - will they be as fast in performance?

    Thanks for your feedbacks
     
  2. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I like the SeaMonkey & Chrome browser portables. They are a bit slower on a flash drive than the standard releases admittedly. But I think the ability to 'carry' your own personalised browser with you outweighs the speed problem. Open Office portable is also incredibly useful for me at work as well.
     
  3. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    I'm using OpenOffice 3.1 from portableapps.com. I'm waiting for the Libre Office version 3.3 which they have said they will support.
     
  4. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
  5. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,907
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    It's brutal alright; excellent AI. :)
     
  6. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    OK, sounds good :thumb:

    But does it cheat like Chess Titans? LOL
     
  7. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,907
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Daveski17, hit the ESC key when Brutal Chess loads to find the game settings. At Medium difficulty, the AI will give you a run for your money! :ouch:
     
  8. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    OK cheers :thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.