Port Explorer 1.8 problem

Discussion in 'Port Explorer' started by ellisonwales, Sep 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ellisonwales

    ellisonwales Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Posts:
    4
    Hi..
    Since updating to version 1.800 , i get " illegal error ..this program will be shut down " when clicking socket spy in utilities and then clicking packet data (.Im using w98se / dial up.Never had any problem before the update.Anyone else have that problem?
    Heres the error...

    PORTEXPLORER caused an invalid page fault in
    module <unknown> at 0000:616d692f.
    Registers:
    EAX=00000001 CS=0167 EIP=616d692f EFLGS=00010216
    EBX=010a0409 SS=016f ESP=006ee41c EBP=65636976
    ECX=ce56a240 DS=016f ESI=010a0780 FS=0fff
    EDX=bffc9490 ES=016f EDI=0000101a GS=0000
    Bytes at CS:EIP:

    Stack dump:
    2f736567 6c726f77 65735f64 63697672 69672e65 54482066 312f5054 0a0d312e 65636341 203a7470 0d2a2f2a 6665520a 72657265 7468203a 2f3a7074 7777772f
    .................................
    ellisonwales
     
  2. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi Ellisonwales,
    and welcome, sad this first experience.
    Before updating, did you uninstall the former PE version?
    And with the install, did you close all other av/at scanners?
    And did you reboot after the uninstall of the former version and the install of the new version?
     
  3. ellisonwales

    ellisonwales Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Posts:
    4
    Hi..First of all ..thanks for such a quick reply.I did not uninstall the previous version , but simply closed /exited port explorer and installed "over the top" as usual.I did however close my av scanner.I did not reboot straight away but choose the "restart computer later" option , that installation offers.
    ellisonwales
     
  4. ellisonwales

    ellisonwales Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Posts:
    4
    Hi Jooske..
    Ive just uninstalled port explorer , and reinstalled v 1.800 and re inputted my key and all is well again.Perhaps i should uninstall the old version in future before updating.Thanks again for earlier reply
    ellisonwales
     
  5. Clive T

    Clive T Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    189
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Hi,

    I've just discovered exactly the same problem as Alison with this version.

    I've done a clean reinstall, rebooted but using socket spy as Alison outlined causes a fatal error as follows:

    AppName: portexplorer.exe    AppVer: 1.8.0.0    ModName: unknown
    ModVer: 0.0.0.0    Offset: 3a657669.

    I'm using XP Pro SP1 -- no other problems on my system at all. I don't know if MS's error report helps but it's attached.

    Clive
     

    Attached Files:

  6. ellisonwales

    ellisonwales Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Posts:
    4
    when you reinstalled fresh did you uninstall the bad version 1.800 and also manually delete the port explorer folder?...as it still containes some files/.dlls including registartion file.I copied the port.pkf file and then deleted the folder and run regseeker registry cleaner.I then reinstalled and put the key back in the port explorer folder before running and all was well again.
    ellisonwales
     
  7. Dan Perez

    Dan Perez Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    1,495
    Location:
    Sunny San Diego
    Yup,

    Ellison is exactly on track. In particular, any old socketspy data should be deleted prior to running the new version. Doing the uninstall should remove the folder along with the old SocketSpy dump file.

    Please let us know if you continue having issues.

    ... and Ellison gets a crunchy Karma cookie for his input :)

    Ellison Gobbling Cookies -> [​IMG]
     
  8. Clive T

    Clive T Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    189
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Problem solved. I uninstalled again, ran my registry cleaner and reinstalled into a different folder.

    All back to normal - except I'm now half an hour older. I'll bill DiamondCS for that!

    Clive
     
  9. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    You can manually delete the capture.bin or if you like to keep it rename it for later review.
    I keep it as small as possible and remove it rather often after spying a while.
    After uninstalling --which i do from the uninstaller in the PE directory itself i always check if there are more unnecessary files to be deleted.
    For Win9x systems the rebooting after uninstalling and installing the new version both times is absolutely necessary. For other systems it's better to do so too.

    Glad it worked out for you all!
     
  10. Jason_DiamondCS

    Jason_DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,046
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Yes the installer should be deleting that file for you but it wasn't included in v1.800 . So if you experience a crash in Socket Spy simply delete capture.bin and everything should be well :)

    -Jason-
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.