Poor media quality

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by geektobe, Feb 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. geektobe

    geektobe Guest

    I have had TI 6 now TI 7 and have had the same problem with both versions.
    I can image a hd fine but when it comes to installing an image on a hd it rarely succeeds and I get the "poor media quality" message. Because of this problem I have never been inpressed with Acronis.
     
  2. David_O

    David_O Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    Not to sound glib but perhaps it is the quality of your media in which you should be unimpressed. One of the surest roads to computer hell is using storage devices that show signs of marginality. Your post isn't detailed enough to tell, but clearly Acronis is trying to tell you something about your source HD, your target HD, or your Acronis boot CD. Don't blame the messenger. :doubt:
     
  3. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Where have you created images? Second hard drive partition, CD-R, DVD+RW, external USB 2 HD?
    Have you done this on more than one system?
     
  4. richdow

    richdow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    I just purchased True Image 8.0 a couple days ago. I really like the interface, which I tested during my demo installation. Unfortunately, I have also experienced the "Poor media quality" message. I tried three different batch and formats, but it appears it does not allow the use of Memorex media at all. It looks like the program searches for the brand of the media and automatically rejects or accepts it. I have yet to see it accept any of my DVD media. I tried the following media and all failed:
    Memorex 4x DVD+R
    Memorex 8x DVD+R
    Memorex 8X DVD-R
    Memorex 8X DVD+R Colors

    I prefer Maxell media, although my samples above were Memorex.

    What media is acceptable for this product?

    I own a ASUS P4PE 3.06 1GB RAM w/ Pioneer 108 DVD burner

    Thanks for your help.

    Richard W. Dowdy
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    Please note that Acronis True Image doesn't write to DVD directly. It uses third-party software instead. Also please make sure you use UDF-formatted DVDs.

    All the brands are acceptable. Acronis True Image supports DVD-RW, DVD+R and DVD+RW. Please do not use DVD-R because it may not work properly.

    Please read the following article concerning DVD writing:
    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/faq.html#20

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  6. geektobe

    geektobe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Thank you all
    Administrator was not responding to my thread but another one. I do not have a DVD-RW drive, I have a CD-RW. I have used many different types of cd's e.g. CD-R, CD-rw and different brands. I have mainly tried to image to a cd not clone. I have consistantly got the "poor media quality" message.

    Is my problem CD's or could it be the quality of the CD-RW drives? Something else?
     
  7. dorourke

    dorourke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    I have found that I recieve this error message I believe erroneously when trying to restore a complete disk. I have used the same media, and restored each partition individually without errors. You may want to try that approach.
     
  8. geektobe

    geektobe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks
    I really only use the one partition on my drive so I do not change the partition when I image to Cd's and restoring that same HD. Therefor I believe your suggestion is not applicable to my situation.
    Thanks again
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello geektobe,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    We are really sorry for the inconveniences.

    Could you please download, unpack and install the following file:

    http://www.acronis.com/files/support/TrueImage8.0_cdlog_s_en.zip (if you are using Acronis True Image 8.0 Standard English)

    or

    http://www.acronis.com/files/support/TrueImageServer8.0_cdlog_s_en.zip (if you are using Acronis True Image Server 8.0 Standard English)

    After this please run the program, reproduce the problem and send the cdrecord.log file created in the \Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\CDRecord folder to support@acronis.com along with the link to this thread and the description of what partition you imaged.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  10. geektobe

    geektobe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    AH well great

    I have trueimage 7 not 8. Do I download that file anyway?
    Thanks
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello geektobe,

    I am really sorry for the mistake. Please make sure you use the latest (63:cool: build, which is available on our web site at http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/. To get access to updates you should register your software first at http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/registration/. Please disable any download managers, internet download/connection boosters, etc. before the download.

    Please download, unpack and install the following file:

    http://www.acronis.com/files/support/TrueImage7.0_cdlog_s_en.zip (if you are using Acronis True Image 7.0 Standard English)

    or

    http://www.acronis.com/files/support/TrueImageServer7.0_cdlog_s_en.zip (if you are using Acronis True Image Server 7.0 Standard English)

    After this please run the program, reproduce the problem and send the cdrecord.log file created in the \Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\CDRecord folder to support@acronis.com along with the link to this thread. Please indicate that you want to contact Ilya Toytman in the subject of the letter.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.