Pleased with TI 11

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by bornconfuzd, Jan 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bornconfuzd

    bornconfuzd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Hello Everyone,

    So I took the plunge and upgraded from TI 10 to TI 11, and thought I should report my experience.

    Dell had it on sale for $29.99, free shipping, $2.47 sales tax, and a $20.00 rebate, final cost $12.46!

    I went online to Acronis, registered my disk’s serial number without having to install software from disk, (nice touch Acronis, not all software companies allow this), thank you! Thus was able to download and install latest build without having to install from disk first.

    Trueimage 11, BartPe Plugin, and SafeMedia Plugin are separate downloads. I downloaded all three, but have only installed Trueimage so far.

    I ended TI processes in Taskmanager, stopped TI services, (only found one), uninstalled TI 10, deleted all the TI folders I could find, ran JV16 2008 registry cleaner and deleted all the TI registry entries it found, and rebooted.

    I then turned off my anti-virus, (Eset Nod32 V. 3), turned off Windows Defender, and installed TI 11, rebooted and turned Windows Defender back on, Nod32 turned itself back on.

    I loaded TI 11 and found that it had found my backup place, a second internal hard drive, it also found my “Twice Weekly Backup” task, but without an actual schedule, so I added the schedule and clicked on “Run Now”, which it did.

    I made a recovery cd, rebooted to it and TI 11 found my second internal, and my external USB drives and the TI 10 backups on both of them. I was able to “explore”, “mount”, and “recover” TI 10 images from within TI 11 in Windows, and “explore” and “recover” from the recovery cd, though I didn’t actually do a restore, I got right to the point of “proceed”.

    “Drive Cleanser” and “Try and Decide are integral to TI 11. I’m including screen shots of TI 11 main screen, “Disk Utilities”, and “Try and Decide”

    All in all, so far so good, I’m relieved and pleased! The nightmare scenario some have experienced has not happened to me, (so far!), and I’m looking forward to same peace of mind with TI 11 as I’ve had with TI 10!

    Hope this helps someone else, as I’ve been the recipient of SO much help from this terrific forum!

    Larry

    Dell E510
    Pentium D 820
    4GB DDR2 SDRAM
    Dual 250GB Seagate HDD
    BFG Nvidia 7600 GT OC Graphics Card
    Windows Vista Ultimate 32 bit
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Since you have downloaded the SafeMedia (Safe Mode) Plugin for TI 11, I would recommend that you go ahead and install it and create a new TI 11 CD that includes it. That way you have it on the CD if you ever need it in the future.
     
  3. bornconfuzd

    bornconfuzd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Thanks for the heads up MudCrab, but I'm not familiar with SafeMedia Plugin, and can't find any documentation for it. Could you point me in the right direction, so I could read up on it? I'd like to know the how, why, and when to use it etc.

    Thanks,

    Larry
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    The SafeMedia Plugin (previous called Safe Mode) is a DOS-based version of TI. The regular (Full Mode) version is Linux-based.

    Safe Mode will not always see USB devices because it accesses everything through the computer's BIOS. However, it will sometimes work on computers where the Linux-based version won't.

    I just recommend having it on the bootable CD in case it's needed at a later date. You may not ever need to use it if the Full Mode version works correctly on your system.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.