Please provide proper upgrade path from v3

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v4 Beta Forum' started by Mits, Nov 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mits

    Mits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Since yesterday I became a customer of ESS v3 x64. While struggling to make the updating of virus definitions work (still waiting from help in the forum), I just discovered this beta programme (where updating hopefully works) and I am definitely considering to try it and provide proper feedback. I bet there are few users of the rare, outdated and obsolete platform of XP x64 (if you know what I mean...)

    After having read all the posts on this forum (ESS v4) and realising there is rather conflicting information, I would appreciate if someone would be so kind as to provide authoritative answers to the following:

    1. Should users of v3 (x64) uninstall it completely before installing v4 (x64)? Or can we just install v4 over v3?

    2. Should we use our customer credentials, leave them blank or use updv4/updv4test?

    3. When will the beta expire, and what will be the proper procedure to install the new version of the beta?

    4. How will we be notified about a new version of the beta?

    5. If I decide to abandon my v3 license, in favour of a v4 license, how can this be done?

    Thank you very much in advance!
     
  2. CivilTaz

    CivilTaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Posts:
    146
    1. Uninstall V3 first
    2. Leave blank
    3. That i don't know
    4. Maybe in the beta download page
    5. Licences are useful for all versions
     
  3. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,049
    Location:
    USA
    1. I would remove v3.
    2. Leave the beta update logon info, yours won't work.
    3. They probably won't answer that yet.
    4. I'm sure new builds will be announced here.
    5. I'm guessing, but I expect your v3 logon will work on v4 when it is released.
     
  4. Mits

    Mits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Thanks for the tips!

    I still cannot make v3 updates to work, so I will venture now into version 4.

    With Q3 mainly I wanted to ask whether there is an automatic update mechanism in the betas or not. Remains to be seen...
     
  5. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    In response to your questions:

    1. ESET Smart Security v4.0 Public Beta 1 can be installed over a previous version of the software, however, a clean installation is recommend so you can examine the new features, updated features and changes to default settings in this release.
    2. Use of the embedded credentials is recommended.
    3. Beta test versions usually expire a few weeks after the product goes into production. Exact scheduling will vary based on data collecting during the beta test cycle.
    4. New beta test releases will be announced through ESET's Beta Portal at http://beta.eset.com/, the Support News web page at http://www.eset.com/support/news.php, via the Support News RSS feed at http://www.eset.com/support/news/rss.php, on ESET's web sites at http://www.eset.com/, http://www.eset.eu and http://www.eset.sk, via email sent to people who sign up at the beta portal (just like with the people last year who registered and were emailed discount coupons when the beta test cycle was over) and, of course, on ESET's Official Support Forum, which is hosted by Wilders Security Forums. Announcements about new builds, release candidates and so forth may also be communicated using other means.
    5. Historically, ESET has licensed software based on a license period, not on a specific version. If the software is released like versions 2.5, 2.7 and 3.0 were, then you would enter your existing credentials to download and install the software, just like any other installation. It is important to note, though, that the upgrade path to v4.0 has not yet been announced. Keeping in mind that the software has been out to the public for a day and will be in test for quite some time, it may be a little early before an official answer is available.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky


     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2008
  6. Mits

    Mits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Thanks, one of the most crystal clear answers I ever had !
     
  7. jhuk

    jhuk Banned

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    46
    V3 Rarely misses an update for me on Vista64.

    V4 misses updates and fails to manually update frequently.

    I have to juggle with the beta User/Pass and my own Legit v3 User/Pass (YES THEY WORK, or mine does).

    V4 is full of bugs as a Beta will be and you should expect that but then so it v3 and its supposed to be Final. :D

    I would not use v4 due solely to issues with v3, your issues should be resolved.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.