Please Help - TI10 Restore Freezes..

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jazzzman, Aug 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jazzzman

    jazzzman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I lost my hard drive (2 partitions C & D) but have a month old Full backup of both. Using the TI10 4942 build I have tried to restore the full image to a new drive. I have tried doing this two ways, from a second inline drive and from a new partition on the new drive. I both cases the restore begins and after 10 minutes simply stops and freezes. Although the cancel dialog box seems to be working, clicking cancel does nothing do it's really frozen. I believe the hard drive is perfectly fine and have tried a single large partition as well as a partion the match the backup image size. No dice. Interestingly it also freezes when trying to validate the .TIB image file. Using TI9 I got the "Corrupt Image" message. TI10 does not complain and tries to restore. I have tried the F11 Linux command like change - no dice. I have also tried to browse and recover the individual files, which appears to work. Although it tells me theirs 10 seconds remaining and has been recovering over an hour.
    I have spent hours fighting with this thing and am extremely frustrated. Can anyone tell me how to recover my System drive?

    Thank you,

    Jazzz
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Have you tried the Safe Mode version of TI? Since you have the backup image on an internal drive it should see it okay. Maybe it will work correctly.

    If you didn't include the Safe Mode version on the TI CD when you created it, you'll have to create another TI CD.
     
  3. jazzzman

    jazzzman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    There is a Safe Mode Option on the boot menu of the TI CD and I have tried it unsucessfuly. If someone can explain how to restore my System Drive by copying the files from the .TIB, that would be helpful. It seems that when I restore them, TI is putting them in a Sub Folder of the actual Root, which means the boot fails as it doesn't see NTLDR, Boot.ini, etc. I find it rather strange the a file c:\some_file is restored as c:\C Folder\some_file. I tried moving the files into the root later, but then get a HAL.DLL error. There has to be a way to do this and restore an exact replica of my original ( C: ) system drive.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Are you sure the image you have is an Disk/Partition Image Backup?

    It sounds like you're trying to restore a "Files & Folders" type backup.
     
  5. jazzzman

    jazzzman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Yes it is an image backup. I've tried restoring it as an image AND mounting and restoring individual files. I am now thinking this is corruption on the drive holding the .TIB files. CHKDSK has already found an repaired a bad cluster. We'll see if this does the trick. Stay tuned..

    Jazzz
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If there was a bad sector in the TIB file then most likely you won't be able to restore it. If it validates okay after the repair then it probably will, but most times the checksum will fail because of the bad area that couldn't be read and you'll be left with a "corrupt" image.

    The only thing to do then is to mount the image and copy out your important files. Hopefully, none of them were in the corrupted area.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.