Please help!!! TD3 ate My Documents folder :(

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by Jason_Parks, Oct 29, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jason_Parks

    Jason_Parks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Hi there I have a real problem.

    I installed TD3 and ran it.
    All of a sudden my computer froze and I had to reboot it.
    When it started again I found that My Document folder and been deleted!
    I'm really pissed about this as I lost ssome important funeral pictures of my late grandmother.
    My wife has threatened me with divorce if I can't get them back so I am in a bit of a pickle.
    I have tried to uninstall it but it does'nt uninstall correctly and I am scared it's going to delete my ICQ list or somehting next.

    Please help :(
     
  2. jay111

    jay111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Posts:
    14
    :doubt:
    hi there !
    have you tried doing a "search" for My Documents or individally named pictures ?
    try that first, as TDS3 can't delete My Documents etc, but the OS can certainly put things in the wrong place when there is some sort of software conflict.
    regards
    jay111
    :doubt:
     
  3. Jason_Parks

    Jason_Parks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Hi Jay thanks for replying.

    I have looked everywhere for it. It has'nt moved, it's just not there anymore :(

    My wife is crying in the bedroom and I really dont know what to do.
    if my ICQ plays up she'll find out about my affair with her cousin :(


    Anyone else got any ideas?>
     
  4. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Jason_Parks, Jay111 is correct TDS3 cannot delete My Documents.

    Fisrt, Did you install from an administrators account?

    Secondly, Did you reboot after installing TDS3?

    Finally, What Operating system are you using?

    If you are using XP do a system restore to a date prior to your TDS3 installation.

    HTH Pilli
     
  5. Jason_Parks

    Jason_Parks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    btw nuttyjay, ASL?
     
  6. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    Hi Jason_Parks, and welcome.

    Until the DiamondCS Team arrives, could you supply more information which will help them figure out what happened. We would need to know your operating system, where you installed TDS-3 (default directory or did you choose another directory), is this a trial version or registered version of TDS, did the scan finish and was anything detected as infected, what other security applictions do you have, etc.

    The more information you can give the better they will be able to help you.

    Also, depending on your operating system, have you tried restoring your system to an earlier state like before you installed TDS-3?

    Sorry Pilli, didn't see your post there... :)

    Regards,

    snap
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2004
  7. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    This is NOT a dating service.
     
  8. Jason_Parks

    Jason_Parks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    I can't find hth pilli on my computer system
     
  9. Jason_Parks

    Jason_Parks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Ok I did a system restore and it's fixed it thanks

    I wont ever install that bit of crap again

    btw Blackspear ASL?
     
  10. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi there, can you please answer the questions asked, like which windows version you are using? XP ?

    Where did you install TDS, as an administrator or user, and in it's default location or other place?

    If XP and as an admin you really should get to an older system-restore point.

    Please post back how it is going.
     
  11. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    We posted at the same time.

    As was said before, TDS has not the capacity of uninstalling or conflicting with other software.

    Make sure you get the download from the DiamondCS site, close your scanners and resident protection, install TDS from the admin account, reboot, back on the site get the latest update and have your scans.

    Hope this helps.
     
  12. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Jason Parks,
    TDS3 is not as you described it, please refrain from attacking a product when people are trying to help you. I am sure that your problem with TDS3 can be resolved if you so wish.

    Pilli
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.