Please advise me on my setup

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by TVH, Mar 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TVH

    TVH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Posts:
    227
    AV: Avira Antivir Premium
    Firewall: Netgear Router (Hardware), Sygate Pro 5.6 (Software)
    Antispyware: SAS Pro 4
    HIPS: EQSecure 3.41
    Sandbox: SandboxIE
    Rootkit: GMER (On demand)
    Encryption: TrueCrypt 5
    Privacy: R-Wipe and Clean
    System Eraser: DBAN 1.0.7
    Backup: Shadow Protect, FD-ISR (replaces system restore)
    Hardening: SpywareBlaster 4, PeerGuardian 2, IE7 Pro, MVPS Host File

    This is my current setup and i now need a little bit of advice. Im already going to be replacing EqSecure 3.41 and SandboxIE with EqSecure 4 final. However, i was wondering if adding a behaviour blocker like threatfire would add to my defences?

    I was thinking or replacing avira with threatfire free or running threatfire alongside avira? Would it improve protection, or is it just overkill?
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2008
  2. MikeNAS

    MikeNAS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    FiNLAND
    Your setup looks good but to me it's totally overkill and uses lots of system resources. No reason to add threatfire with all of those.
     
  3. TVH

    TVH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Posts:
    227
    I disagree. My current setup runs very light and the constantly active programs are avira, SAS Pro, Syagte and EqSecure. I dont thinkits overkill yet when compared to what some people use in their setups lol.

    However, what if i was to replace avira premium and sas pro with threatfire? Would that be more effective or am i better off with my current setup?
     
  4. muf

    muf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    926
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    With EQSecure v4 having a sandbox then I don't see the need for an AV. Add to that SAS Pro and Threatfire while behind Sygate(I assume to manage outgoings as you are behind a router?). Looks a good setup to me. Nicely layered.

    muf
     
  5. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408

    As long as theres no conflicts and your system is up to speed I don't see a problem with your setup.
    Looks like your covering your a** with the layered approach which is a good idea,IMO.
    Myself i'd keep the AV and the AS and forget about TF. I think you got that aera covered. :thumb:
     
  6. TVH

    TVH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Posts:
    227
    Cheers guys. Looks like ill be sticking to what ive got.
     
  7. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    Just curious why you asked for advice. You get a response saying its probably overkill - you disagree - and then appear happy when others confirm that what you have is good. Please don't take offense but I'm not really sure why you asked for advise if you really intended to stick with what you've got all along.

    Just to answer your question anyway - I think its massive overkill - but what the H - we all have to have pointless hobbies.
     
  8. TVH

    TVH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Posts:
    227
    I was only really asking if using a behaviour blocker like threatfire along with Sygate and EqSecure would provide better protection than using Avira and SAS Pro
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2008
  9. baerzake

    baerzake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Posts:
    44
    just avira+Netgear Router+eq+sandboxie. it is enough.
     
  10. SecOmnius

    SecOmnius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Posts:
    70
    Location:
    In the Light of PARTHENON
    TVH,

    >ALL these apps do NOT make your system slow (?) o_O
    >Having -BOTH- Hardware Firewall and Software Firewall?
    Just Keep your Hardware Firewall.
    >Already using AV&AS scanners with HIPS & Sandboxing
    and adding a behavior blocker (=ThreatFire)? No way.

    Some combinations (apart from having a Hardware Firewall):

    -AV+AS.
    -AV+AS+Sandboxie.
    -Sandboxie+EQS.
    -Sandboxie+TF.

    Having AV+AS+Sandbox+HIPS+Behavior Blocker -all Together- is an overkill.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2008
  11. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    These are all so called light applications, if they are running altogether very light on your system: congratulations, never change a winning team.

    Well, who knows what happens if you add ThreatFire (Pro ?) and where should it be more effective with it.
    At browsing, at p2p? What are you using Sandboxie for? Why SAS Pro on access?
    In other words, I am not really sure which areas all these on access apps should cover exactly.
    But as long as there are no conflicts or slowdown, this is a minor problem.

    Cheers
     
  12. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    A classic firewall + a behav. blocker (blacklisting ON STEROIDS) + a classical HIPS vs two "traditional" blacklist scanners. I guess that my thoughts are very clear, even if using a behav. blocker and a classical HIPS together is close to pointless.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.