Ping TheQuest

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by MICRO, Jul 28, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MICRO

    MICRO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,020
    I am definitely missing something with this TI7, instructions.

    Made the ' Bootable Rescue Media Builder ' on a CD-RW, it's 6 files in a folder
    now on that CD-RW.

    You mentioned to shut down the computer.
    Restart the computer with the CD-Bootdisk.

    It won't work like that as it is, the 6 files in the folder on the CD-RW.
    I am missing some critical information as to how I get the files out of the folder so that when I do as you suggested, 'Restart the computer ', it will
    be able to run the Bootdisk.

    Regards.
     
  2. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    Go into your BIOS and make sure that it's set up to try booting from a CD-ROM before the hard drive. A common sequence is:
    1) Floppy
    2) CD-ROM
    3) Hard Drive
    4) Other
     
  3. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, MICRO

    What six files. you should only be able to see two files on the CD-BootDisk [Bootable Rescue Media]

    Did you make the Bootable Rescue CD with Ti's Create Rescue Media Builder

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  4. MICRO

    MICRO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,020
    Thanks wdormann,

    Unfortunately I don't have a clue how to get into the Bios area, in order
    to change to your given sequence, and then to know if I need to return to
    reinstate the original Bios settings or if they can then be left.

    This really is not my field of endeavour and so I only need to know enough to
    get the job done and get the hell away from it.

    Any bit of help to accomplish above very gratefully received.

    Regards.
     
  5. MICRO

    MICRO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,020
    Ah TheQuest,
    There you are.

    Yes I did make it as you say.

    It has, BOOTMENU.EXE
    bootwiz.sys
    fll.cfg
    kernel.dat
    Mouse.com
    Ramdisk.dat

    Those are the 6 files in a folder. otherwise just a read text file with no instructions.
    I must say that of all the programs I have and use on my computer
    this Acronis is far and away the most totally hopeless for plain simple english instructions on how to do everything neccessary from a standing start.
    They have got some nerve stating for, ' Beginners and Experts alike '.

    Regards.
     
  6. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, MICRO

    To get to the BIOS this is what you do.

    GIVE IT A TRIAL RUN AS YOUR NOT SURE.

    Shut down the Computer.

    Start the Computer, AT the boot screen [Press Detete on most PC's or Press Esc on most Laptop's] also these:- Delete: AMI or Award BIOS.
    Esc: Toshiba
    F1: Toshiba; Phoenix; some IBM PS/1 models.
    F10: Compaq.
    F2: NEC.
    Insert: IBM PS/2.
    Tab: eMachines.
    Reset button (press twice): Some old Dells.
    Ctrl-Alt-+: Various computers.
    Ctrl-Alt-?: Some old IBM PS/2 models.
    Ctrl-Alt-Enter: Some Dells, others.
    Ctrl-Alt-Esc: AST, Tandon, others.
    Ctrl-Alt-Ins: Zenith PCs, Phoenix BIOS.
    Ctrl-Alt-S: Phoenix BIOS.
    Ctrl-Alt-Shift with Del (on number pad): Olivetti.
    Ctrl-Esc: Many PCs.
    Ctrl-Ins: Some IBM PS/2s.
    Ctrl-S: Phoenix BIOS.
    Ctrl-Shift-Esc: Tandon :-
    to get the BIOS Screen and check your Boot order. it must be set to boot from CD [if you are useing CD BootDisk] or Floppy [If useing floppy BootDisk]. When set Save and Exit the BIOS.[F10] Do the next befor you Press F10.

    Next Put the Boot Disk in it drive [CD or Floppy] Then Press F10

    This is to make sure you do not miss the Boot from CD or Floppy. [Easley Done]

    Then when Ti is Loaded you will see the restore icon press and do your Trial Run.

    It will not Restore untill you give it the Proceed button.

    Give it a few trys Untill you fill comfortable.


    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2004
  7. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    You haven't mentioned what kind of PC you have, so I can't say for sure.

    This document may help, assuming you have no documentation for your PC. (which would be the first place to check)

    There is no harm done by bumping the priority of the CD-ROM wrt. the boot sequence. In fact, that's the proper configuration. So once you change it, leave it.
     
  8. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    I have never seen them on any of the CD Rescue Disk's I have made.

    Do this go to Start>All Programs>Acronis>TrueIamge>Bootable Rescue Media Builder. also read Page 55 on the Ti7 PDF.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  9. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    Those files are on all of my rescue CDs. Perhaps you didn't look hard enough. :)

    Anyway, MICRO's problems are with the BIOS, not the CD.
     
  10. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    I see the following on my CDs:

    "bootmenu.exe","Disk G","\Recovery Manager","935.69 KB",2/5/2004,7:46:20 PM
    "bootwiz.sys","Disk G","\Recovery Manager","22.00 KB",2/5/2004,7:46:20 PM
    "f11.cfg","Disk G","\Recovery Manager","198 bytes",2/5/2004,7:46:20 PM
    "kernel.dat","Disk G","\Recovery Manager","605.08 KB",2/5/2004,7:46:20 PM
    "mouse.com","Disk G","\Recovery Manager","4.74 KB",2/5/2004,7:46:20 PM
    "ramdisk.dat","Disk G","\Recovery Manager","6.34 MB",2/5/2004,7:46:20 PM
    "readme.txt","Disk G","\","5.45 KB",2/5/2004,7:46:20 PM

    Nick
     
  11. MICRO

    MICRO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,020
    Thanks Quest and to wdormann,

    I have a desktop - WIN98SE.
    I have saved a pic. of yours and wdormann's instructions Quest, and shall give it a try.

    I hope you noted Quest that wdormann gets the same 6 files in a folder as I get from going via the, Start - Programs - Bootable Rescue Media Builder.

    Do I have it correct that if I change the BIOS settings it will not matter that the 6 files are inside a folder, they will be able to be read by the CD-ROM ?

    Thanks so much to you both for persevering.

    Regards.
     
  12. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    The BIOS boot settings would be the first thing to look at.

    Nick
     
  13. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
  14. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, MICRO

    Sorry :oops: you are right six file in the recovery manager folder, and readme text file.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  15. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, MICRO

    Sorry missed that bit, Yes that is correct but you should not need them anyway.

    They are for the recovery manager. [to do with F11 and SZ]

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.