Ping Bubba - (IE Security Settings Issues)

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by MICRO, Oct 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MICRO

    MICRO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,020
    Ping Bubba

    Bubba,
    Would you have any clues as to what I may have set in IE6 Internet Options, or elsewhere, that causes tiny square icons to appear on site pages ?

    It's as though they disable advertising somehow.

    I am not having any luck uploading an example via the, 'manage attachments'.

    Each tiny icon has a tiny blue triangle,a red square, and a green round looking
    thing inside it, too tiny for my eyesight.

    Tia,

    Regards.
     
  2. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Re: Ping Bubba

    Hey Yia,

    Not sure which Bubba your speaking of but does it look like the below pic ?

    If so....I would check your....Run ActiveX controls and plug-ins setting under IE's Tools\Internet OptionsSecurity tab\Internet Zone\Custom Level....ActiveX controls and plugins section.

    BTW....do you have a link where this is happening to you ?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 6, 2004
  3. MICRO

    MICRO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,020
    Re: Ping Bubba

    Thanks Bubba,
    There may be half a dozen stand ins, but only one original !

    You are quick man, yes that's the icon.
    In your reply you have [/U] section.
    What does that [/U] mean Bubba, I ran down the list of items but cannot tell
    which item should not have the black dot ?

    Regards.
     
  4. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Re: Ping Bubba

    The underline thing was a way for me to emphasize something....but it appears I failed :(

    Anyway....the Run ActiveX controls and plug-ins setting I mentioned in my first post may do it.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. MICRO

    MICRO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,020
    Re: Ping Bubba

    I just enabled it Bubba,then went to a site, but still it shows up.
     
  6. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Re: Ping Bubba

    Ok....I'll ask this question again....do you have a link where this is happening to you ?
     
  7. still_longhorn

    still_longhorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    256
    Re: Ping Bubba

    Do you have any other pop up blocker running? (i.e. Naviscope 8.7?)
     
  8. MICRO

    MICRO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,020
    Re: Ping Bubba

    Sure,
    www.iasbet.com
     
  9. MICRO

    MICRO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,020
    Re: Ping Bubba

    No still,
    I do have many security apps. but I can't think of one that would cause this
    icon to show.
    I just tried IE on both High, and Medium, but still see that icon on sites.

    Regards.
     
  10. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Re: Ping Bubba

    To eliminate IE as the culprit....you could temporarily place www.iasbet.com in your Trusted Zone....where almost everything is enabled by default.

    I normally have the Internet Zone on High....but for this problem....I placed the Run ActiveX controls and plug-ins setting to Prompt....and I received the below Security warning. So....something is causing the ActiveX plugin not to run.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 6, 2004
  11. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Re: Ping Bubba

    Micro,

    Since that is a shockwave file....(/images/1/en/misc/flash/entrance_flash_euro.swf )....have you ever used SpywareBlaster or a similar program....that will Disable or block Macromedia Flash ActiveX plugin?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. MICRO

    MICRO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,020
    Re: Ping Bubba

    Do you mean such as SB or the Immunized area of SS& D ?

    What I probably should have asked you originally is,
    do you ever get the icon showing up on sites, I see it on quite a few different ones, because you probably have the above mentioned
    too.
    Thanks anyway for taking a look at it.

    Regards
     
  13. MICRO

    MICRO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,020
    Re: Ping Bubba

    I did not see this reply soon enough Bubba, B'4 I sent my latest.
    I will check this out in a minute re. SB.
     
  14. MICRO

    MICRO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,020
    Re: Ping Bubba

    I went into SB and that was 'checked' so I unchecked, and tried with IE on
    High and then Medium to no avail.
    Is it a case where once unchecked I would need to restart machine for SB to take it on board ?
     
  15. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Re: Ping Bubba

    Once you uncheck that setting....you need to close all IE browser windows....reopen IE so that all ActiveX controls\plugins can re-load(in this case the flash.ocx)....and then re-visit that site
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2004
  16. MICRO

    MICRO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,020
    Re: Ping Bubba

    It's still the same Bubba, even with SB unchecked and trying
    High and then Medium on IE.
    Got me beat.
    Thanks for trying.

    Regards.
     
  17. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Re: Ping Bubba

    Hey Micro,

    If your still having this problem....would you try a few things and also....see if you still indeed have flash loaded if you haven't checked already.

    1)via IE's Tools\Internet Options\Temporary Internet files\Settings\View objects....do you see a Program File listed named Shockwave Flash Object ?

    2)add macromedia.com to your Trusted Zone
     
  18. MICRO

    MICRO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,020
    Re: Ping Bubba

    Thanks for persevering Bubba, you've killed a couple of birds with one stone.
    I had been wondering why I could not download a newer version of the flash from MM.

    After checking your above mentioned,and adding 'always allow', then downloading from MM and rechecking the, 'view objects'. The download was supposed to be around 480kb but in 'view objects' it says 'Shockwave Flash' 32kb. Maybe it only added on to an old one or something, because there were no objections from MM during or after the D\L.

    Bottom line is that I've been to a few sites to check, and the icon is now gone so long as I drop the level from High to Medium, and the site flash is showing instead.I don't like dropping from H. to M. but understand there are times when it's necessary.I can also recheck that which you showed in SB if I want to lose the flash.

    Once again I say a big thanks for your help Bubba,
    Y'all take care.

    kind regards
     
  19. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Re: Ping Bubba

    Your Welcome Micro....and I'm glad you got it working. Also....you are right....there are times with IE that users have to consider lowering their settings....especially if they want to see Flash(Run ActiveX controls and plug-ins).

    Have a good one :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.