Physical to Virtual-Step by Step procedure requested

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by guruuno, Nov 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. guruuno

    guruuno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Posts:
    61
    I have a new Dell PowerEdge 2900 Server, 8Gb ram, Raid5, with X64 Windows Server 2003 R2.

    This server is to replace an older XP Pro Workstation, which was nothing more than a file server.

    I'd like to make an image of the XP Workstation, and deploy it on a Virtual Machine on the new server.

    Other than just plain 'ol making the image with Universal Restore, is there some other process to get the image on the VMware partition?

    Alternately, if Acronis cannot do it, what other options are there (I already own Symantec Backup Exec with seamless integrates the .v2i (image file) from VMware), and was hoping some as simple procedure exists with any of the Acronis products.

    Thanking all in advance.
     
  2. mvalpreda

    mvalpreda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    What VM software are you using on your server? If VMWare, just use the FREE converter. I did the same thing with a failing workstation we needed to save. Took about 45 minutes to turn a 30GB physical machine to a VM on our server. It will now live forever. ;)
     
  3. guruuno

    guruuno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Posts:
    61
    So, you are saying the the Free VMware Converter, "converts" Acronis True Image files? (.tib file)
     
  4. mvalpreda

    mvalpreda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    No. I'm saying why make a backup and then a backup to a VM? If you are using VMWare, download the converter (http://www.vmware.com/products/converter/) and go through the steps to make a physical machine into a virtual machine. No need to back it up and then convert the ATI image file.

    Or do you just have the ATI image and no physical machine?
     
  5. guruuno

    guruuno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Posts:
    61
    I haven't started any processes as of yet, but you say create a VM 1st, then from within the VM restore with the utility?
     
  6. guruuno

    guruuno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Posts:
    61
    Ohhhhhh, you are saying that VMware has it's own procedure to create the image from a physical imageo_O If so, GOT IT!! Thanks!
     
  7. guruuno

    guruuno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Posts:
    61
    And if so, I'd assume I'll need a required version of Vmware on the new server to 'see', whether via mapped network share or (?) to create the VM from the physical? Or do I install VMware Workstation of the old XP box, use the converter to create the VMware image which I then use the converter to restore to the VM on the server.....?

    Appreciate it, 1st time doing this with Acronis (or not), and as I said before, I did it with Symantec Backup Exec.....now if I understand correctly....this process requires no software other than Vmware, and the procedure to create a VM from a physical machine is part of the functionality of VMware (meaning I don't need to worry about making an Acronis backup??)
     
  8. mvalpreda

    mvalpreda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Install VMWare server on your server. It's free.
    Install VMWare converter on your server. It's free.
    Run VMWare converter and turn the physical machine into a VM.
     
  9. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    I suggest you consider the new Echo versions of True Image. The Enterprise Server, Server and Workstation versions all contain the ability to convert an image file to a Virtual Hard Disk. You have a choice of four formats:

    VMware
    VMware (ESX Server)
    Microsoft Virtual PC
    Parallels
     
  10. guruuno

    guruuno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Posts:
    61
    That's great, but I do not see any product information or pricing as well as availability on their website.......is it Acronis, is it out, etc.?

    Thanks
     
  11. FBMachines

    FBMachines Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    229
    Location:
    Texas
    Guruuno,
    It's in the corporate TI lineup...

    Also, the VM Converter v3.02 says it added a TIB (version 9) conversion to virtual HD support. I don't know if anything has changed from version 9 to current though. This would be an interesting test.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2007
  12. hakre

    hakre Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    I had problems with both the VMWare Converter on a ATI 9 image (.tib) as well as with ATI Echo to convert a .tbi into a .vmdk. Are there any other utils, maybe to create a VMDK directly from the partition?
     
  13. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello hakre,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Corporate Disk Backup Software.

    We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience, but current builds of Acronis True Image Echo are only able to convert images made from IDE or SCSI hard drives. The issue was already fixed and the fix will be included into the next build of Acronis True Image Echo. We are sorry, but the exact time-frame isn't defined yet.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  14. hakre

    hakre Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    So you mean, an IDE drive that was connected via USB can't be handeled by the current ATI Echo?
     
  15. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello hakre,

    Correct, since in that case the drive operates via USB interface.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  16. Virtualizer

    Virtualizer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    Is it possible to download that fix manualy (now)? Will it be possible to do a free update (download) of our very new purchased Acronis True Image Echo Server CD (if available)?

    Thanks & Regards
    Torsten (looking forward to work with ATI Echo and SATA HDDs ;-)
     
  17. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Virtualizer,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Corporate Disk Backup Software.

    Please be aware that currently there is no build released that includes the fix. Once it's released, it will be avaible to download as an update (i.e. free if you have a license of the respective version of Acronis True Image Echo).

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  18. Dragg1e

    Dragg1e Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Hey guys,
    Is there a way that I can schedule the conversion of the *.tib files to the vdmko_O
     
  19. TimHaegele

    TimHaegele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    How can I convert a .tib to bootable Vmware Image?

    - ATI Echo converts .tib to .vmdk, but the vmdk is only the "virtual disk", lacking the config file .vmx etc.
    - Vmware Converter fails to convert .tib to a VMImage, obviously because support for .tib's created with "ATI Echo Server" is not yet implemented
    - Yes, Vmware Converter can create VMImage from a running machine, but this is not what I want and does very often not work (never worked on a Server here)


    Greetings
    Tim
     
  20. paulimmoos

    paulimmoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    I'm in the same boat Tim. I would like to be able to take my backup and use the Acronis Converter to create a virtual machine for that bare metal crash that might happen.

    I've tried Vmware converter for the tib file and had teh same prob. I have used the VMware converter with sporadic succes on MS2003 servers. There is a program for converting vmware to ms vpc format. But I have also had limited sucess with it.
     
  21. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    All you do is use the Echo converter to turn the tib file into a virtual hard drive. Then create a new VM with VMware and use the existing hard drive you just created.
     
  22. TimHaegele

    TimHaegele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    I tried this, but the VM does not boot, getting a Bluescreen with Stop: 0x0000007B

    Because the .vmdk has all the drivers for a IBM Server installed its no wonder I think?!

    Greetings, Tim
     
  23. JFoo

    JFoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Hi, I am curious to see if anyone has actually done XP pro physical machine to virtual machine(microsoft Virtual server 2005) using an TI 11 .tib image . If so, can you give step by step. I read that you can use echo workstation, but I already purchased the TI 11.
     
  24. sramey

    sramey Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I too am curious. When i try to convert a .tib to vmdk, i receive an error message: "invalid parameters" (i find this in the logs files).

    Does anyone know what this is refering to? i'm using TI echo build 8076.
     
  25. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    The tib file structure is diff in version 11 than in 9 or 10. So something that was made toconvert 9--and hasn't been updated to handle 11 won'thandle them properly.

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.