PG 3.0 Free doubt, or bug...

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by rdsu, Nov 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Hi,

    Sorry if something like this was already reported...

    I have the PG 3.0 Free with the "Learning Mode" disable, and when I try to kill some protected program with the Task Manager or with the Advanced Process Termination, the PG protect that program, but if I try to kill with the "Task Killer" the PG doesn't protect the program.

    Is this normal, the FULL version protect us against this or is a bug?

    Thanks
     
  2. ReGen

    ReGen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    Scotland UK
    I think you’ll find you have Task Killer on your protected list of programs which gives it modification rights. Remove it from your protected list and PG will prevent the methods Task Killer uses. :)
     
  3. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Hi ReGen,

    You are right!
    I didn't remember that... ;)

    I remove the "Modify protected applications" option, in Task Killer, and now works fine ;)

    Thanks
     
  4. DonKid

    DonKid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    S?o Paulo, Brazil
    Hi Folks. I´m newbie with PG 3.0 and have the same question.
    I´ve tried to kill for example: mdm.exe (using crtl+Alt+del and forced it to kill, sorry guys, I´m Brazilian and I don´t know what is the translation for it in English) and PG 3.0 stop it.But when I try to kill outpost.exe, and another progs, PG 3.0 didn´t stop it. This way I can kill everything.
    What´s wrong ? How can I know I´m protected ?

    Best Regards,

    DonKid.
     
  5. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Hi DonKid,

    Did you added the outpost.exe to the Protection list?

     
  6. DonKid

    DonKid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    S?o Paulo, Brazil
    Yes , I did.
    I tried to kill everything using ctrl+alt+del, and I killed everything without a warning from PG 3.

    Best Regards,

    DonKid.
     
  7. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    See if the TaskManager have the "Modify protected applications" option enable in Process Guard.
     
  8. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Best of all, remove TaskManager from the protected list and try it :)

    Pilli
     
  9. richrf

    richrf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,907
    Hi Pilli et al,

    Is there any documentation that suggests which types of applications should be on the protected list and which should not and what types of settings they should be given? There doesn't seem to be this type of guidance in the Help files. If there is no supplementary doc or faq, can you, or anyone else on this forum, elaborate in some general way what should be on the protected list and what types of settings should be applied. I think this would be very useful since a mistake, it seems, can undermine all of PG's safeguards. Thanks much.

    Rich
     
  10. DonKid

    DonKid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    S?o Paulo, Brazil
    Thanks folks...Now PG blocks Task Manager.Just 1 more question:
    How can I test if PG is protecting my PC, without using task manager ?

    By the way, I´d like to thanks Rich for his idea about that documentation.

    Best Regards,

    DonKid.
     
  11. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi rich, That is a monumental task:) as every PC is different, however, the guideline is add all your system, internet enabled programs and security apps, give them the just the default allows and then watch for any alerts which will enable you to decide what other allows you may need to make.
    If you have run learning mode for a reasonable amount of time most items will have the necessary allows but you can fine tune this if you so wish.

    HTH Pilli
     
  12. richrf

    richrf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,907
    Hi Pilli,

    The guideliness you suggest helps. So from your description, application programs such as Quicken, Word, FTP, etc. should not be placed on the protection list. Is this correct? Thanks, as always, for your help.

    Rich
     
  13. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Yes Rich, That's about it - Of the Office suite I only have Outlook and Frontpage on the protected list as they connect to the net, FTP should be on your list BTW (I use Smart FTP) none of my Adobe apps apart from Acrobat or things like Music explorer, GIF aniamtor, Nero etc.

    HTH Pilli.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.