Personal Firewall 1046

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by regnim, May 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. regnim

    regnim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Posts:
    13
    I turned on test mode to get module 1046. I then turned off test mode to stay at 1046, however it always reverts 1040 with test mode turned off. How to stay at 1046 with test mode off?
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    I suppose you could do it the long way around.

    Boot into SAFE mode, copy the 1046 em008_32.dat to another place, reboot back into run mode turn off test mode, wait for 1046 to change to 1040, then boot back into safe mode copy the 1046 version back - reboot.

    This time around as you won't have test mode active, it should stay as 1046.
     
  3. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,851
    This is the problem I had when coming out of test mode, which is why I never use it. My solution was a reinstall.
     
  4. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    May I ask why you want leave test mode? Most posters here report success with 1046. If that is case also for you, let test mode enabled and wait for a new build of ESS.
     
  5. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    After getting 1046, I too, turned off TM. After checking right then, and just now, its still @ 1046. No explanation and prog has updated a number of times since dl'g the beta. o_O
     
  6. regnim

    regnim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Posts:
    13
    Yes, I am happy with 1046. That is why I wanted to turn test mode off. Let someone else test 1047+. Thanks
     
  7. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,046
    Location:
    USA
    After having problems with the firewall starting on 2 machines with version 1046 I turned off test mode and was downgraded to 1040 like everyone else here. After which I uninstalled and went back to v3.0.684.0. As long as they are still supporting it I will probably stay with it for a while. It seems like it took a long while for v3 to work well, probably the same will happen with v4.
     
  8. proactivelover

    proactivelover Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    840
    Location:
    Near Wilders Forums
    1046 work's great no more DNS Cache Poisoning log's
    great work eset
     
  9. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    When are they releasing it to people that don't have test mode enabled? It seems most people using don't have many complaints.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.