Personal AV tests

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by dan_maran, Apr 30, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dan_maran

dan_maran Registered Member

As of late, it seems people have been shying away from posting results of personal testing scenarios. I find this disturbing, because in my opinion that seems like they are just taking others "advice" and not trying things out for themselves. Or I could be completely wrong, and way off the mark.

Well, who knows. Any how I have been testing a few AV's against my personal collection(s) and have posted the results, along with the lame test bed log file. You can view them here

But please read the Disclaimer and form your own opinions. As this is currently a work in progress, it is fairly lame. You also need some understanding of log files to grasp the information provided. But please remember, as you will see in the Disclaimer, I am no Professional and this is merely a test for myself I felt others might enjoy.
    And if you don't read the Disclaimer , then don't even bother posting a reply to this thread.

Also, if you feel something should be changed, or you need some kind of more information please say so.

//01MAY05//
    I had to move the site so the links are updated now
    http://oem.zer0-tec.net/testing/DISCLAIMER.html

Last edited: May 1, 2005
  2. christophs

christophs Registered Member

Thanks!
    Are you only testing two AVs?

3. Firecat

Firecat Registered Member

I'm sure there's more coming soon :)

4. Happy Bytes

Happy Bytes Guest

I've absolutely no doubts about this :blink:

5. Blackcat

Blackcat Registered Member

I enjoy seeing personal tests here, as long as were not talking about sample sizes of 10-100.

likuidkewl, my only suggestion would be that you try to count the number of undetected files after the scanner has been set to delete infected samples.