Performance Problem: Build 3.0.657

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by knacki99, May 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. grunf

    grunf Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    did not tweaked anything, allways used and installed NOD and now ESS with standard default settings
     
  2. jhuk

    jhuk Banned

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    46
    I dont see how Eset staff need info to replicate this error.

    Simply running your PC is next to impossible.

    I updated to this new build and I am not sure if it was actual build or a Definition Update because it only started to act up in last 24 hours.

    My PC locks both CPU Cores at 70-100% for the Eset Service randomly, it pauses my PC for a few seconds when I open a Window in Explorer/Web/WMP, infact anything.

    I dont really fancy removiing this build to then clean up in safe mode to then install older build.

    I think Eset need put out a quick fix A.S.A.P, then a proper fix afterwards.

    Oh, BTW, my Eset settings are all defaulted I do not mess with them apart from Splashscreen disabled, and any I did change at any time did not cause issues before this update.
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    I've installed version 3.0.657 on my office computer today, enabled all options in the real-time protection and so far have not noticed any slowdown or other problems.
     
  4. jhuk

    jhuk Banned

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    46
    Nor did I and it was fine for days from release of .657 till the 26th, so it may be the Definition or simply take time to act up.

    There is far too many peeps reporting this, it is a REAL issue and needs some sort of fixing.

    Im on Vista64 Ult btw and right now I feel like throwing my PC against the wall when it pauses randomly due to Eset taking 100% CPU on both Cores.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2008
  5. wrathchild

    wrathchild Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    170
    Location:
    Neoplantesis
    Well...now I understand why end-users have the problems (because developers don't have problems at all...never:rolleyes:)
     
  6. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,120
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    My machine has 100% CPU usage for about 8 minutes and then calms down. This started with the invention of the Eset Security Suite, but is more pronounced with the latest build.

    In addition, ESS does not like Prevx 2.0 and makes it inoperable. Having used computers since 1969, this is disconcerting to say the least. I have used Eset software for several years, but uninstalled it about a week ago.
     
  7. jhuk

    jhuk Banned

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    46
    How soon till a FIX, Im sick of PC today.

    If not fixed in 2-3 days I will need remove it and put on older build (PIA).
     
  8. appster

    appster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    557
    Location:
    Paradise (Hawaii)
    Marcos~ Which OS is that office PC running - XP or Vista (x86 or x64)? o_O

    I'm also seeing unusually high CPU utilization with build 657 on Vista Home Premium SP1. The same PC didn't have that issue with build 650. :doubt:
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2008
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Hi Appster, Windows XP and Vista 32-bit. Do you use default settings?
     
  10. the_sly_dog

    the_sly_dog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    The Heart Of London
    Mine is the same pc is nearly unusable i unistall eset security pc back to normal.. takes forever when i logon in all the icons on screen goes white then the taskbar icons take forever about 2-3 minutes later they all load then pc is soooooo slow o_O
     
  11. swante

    swante Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    We have also had similar problems, that is when starting the computers ekrn.exe starts using cpu-power to the max, and this doesn't stop for a very long while.
    When I ran the Process Monitor-tool I could see that .msp-files located in C:\Windows\Installer were constantly processed by ekrn.exe.
    So what I did was to add this folder to the exclusion option, and it seems to work....
    We use swedish XP Pro/SP2, with Nod 3.0.657.
    Not a very good solution, but a quick work-around.
    Haven't had these problems before 3.0.657 wich was installed 3 days ago
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2008
  12. Teraclips

    Teraclips Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Posts:
    51
    Hahaha and I changed to ESET SS from Norton 360 v2.0(Iwas using version 1.0 and no problem with performance but when I changed to version 2.0 this happened) cause of the same problem hes describing, well I wasted $ 60 for Norton and I had cover for 366 days than changed to ESET SS and cough another $ 60 (and this is just 1 pc) for ESET SS hahaha man well Im gonna keep with the same build 650 so I wont make the same mistake.
     
  13. appster

    appster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    557
    Location:
    Paradise (Hawaii)
    Yes, default settings. I have now removed 657 and reinstalled 650 - and the problem is gone!
     
  14. mkret

    mkret Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    Certainly you are kidding. If you read the whole thread you will have enough details up the Gazoo.

    Thanks NOT for the standard software company reply.
     
  15. ingber

    ingber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    I also have the problem of CPU being maxed out by ESS ekrn.exe 657 (which I did not see under 650) for close to 10 mins every time after booting up my Thinkpad A31p running XP Pro SP3.

    The procedure I followed was:
    I exported my settings from 650.
    I uninstalled 650, and followed up with ccleaner and jv16.
    I installed 657 and rebooted (immediately suffering the delay described).
    I imported my settings from 650 into 657. It's good I saved the settings, as there was no option when uninstalling 650 to save my settings? I still suffer the delays on every reboot.

    Lester
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2008
  16. PizzZak

    PizzZak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    I was also getting high CPU usage with ekrn.exe and using process monitor noticed that it was scanning *.msp files in the C:\windows\installer directory. Added the directory into the exclusion list and it fixed the issue. I have this issue on a handful of computer in my domain. Other computers work just fine without the exclusion.
     
  17. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    As it seems some people have problem with specific folder/file extensions , as a general recommendation can be to set the real-time file system protection's extensions to the default list
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.