PE=Help Again/Question

Discussion in 'Port Explorer' started by Valkyri001, Aug 23, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Valkyri001

    Valkyri001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Posts:
    300
    Location:
    Friendswood Tx. 77546
    :) I'm betting this is really basic but, humor me. Why don't I see my address in the Local or Remote address columns?
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Valkyri001,I assume you mean you IP address? Well you are not remote so normally your own PC will be seen as Loal Port: XXXX LocalHost & Remote port as: 0 Remote Address: LocalHost or *.*.*.*. which is your own machine.
    If you are using a network through a router you will see something like:
    Generic Host Processes: LoclHost, Port Number remot address 192.168.1.1 Potrumber

    HTH Pilli
     
  3. Valkyri001

    Valkyri001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Posts:
    300
    Location:
    Friendswood Tx. 77546
    ;) Yes! In the Help tab, there is a link to ID my address. This I assume is the "static" address that is me on the internet? But PE does not show me this same address. Why is that? Am I looking in the wrong place or at the wrong thing. I don't even get that address when I use ipconfig.
     
  4. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Valkyri001,
    In the Help Tab?
    Have you got Netstat hidden by the way? - Settings - Hide netstat sockets
     
  5. Valkyri001

    Valkyri001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Posts:
    300
    Location:
    Friendswood Tx. 77546
    :D Ok! guess I'm not saying this right.
    ;) In Help, I clicked Index, then under the content tab I read down to Beginners. It talks about my IP address. There is a link there that gives me an address that I'm assuming is supposed to be my computer. Is it just a factitious number or example?
    :)
     
  6. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    It is just an example.
    You should see your IP address, when you are connected to the internet by Start - cmd - return (this opens the command console in W2K XP)then typing ipconfig /all press return at the command prompt.

    HTHPilli
     
  7. Valkyri001

    Valkyri001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Posts:
    300
    Location:
    Friendswood Tx. 77546
    ;) That certainly explains that. Just one more quick one Pilli. When I see asterisks in the columns, what does that mean?
    Ie: ***.*.*.** o_O
    And Many Thanks for your Help!!! :D
     
  8. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Yes I can or rather Jason has, here is his reply to an earlier question about this

    port explorer 0.0.0.0 and *.*.*.* ?

    UDP sockets often show the remote as *.*.*.* simply because UDP sockets cannot be "connected" to a remote IP address, rather they just send packets to a remote IP address.

    Port Explorer shows the LAST IP address data was sent to on a UDP socket for some of the sockets it can display it for, but it cannot display this information for the netstat based sockets which is why you see *.*.*.* .
     
  9. Valkyri001

    Valkyri001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Posts:
    300
    Location:
    Friendswood Tx. 77546
    ;) Thank You!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.