PE crashes when I perform PING/TRACE/WHOIS

Discussion in 'Port Explorer' started by Cyborg, Mar 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cyborg

Cyborg Registered Member

Hi Guys,

Hope you can help. I am running PE Trial so I am new to this but also new to PC's in general. I am having a problem with IP 194.168.4.100 inasmuch that my PC is trying to access port 53 at another PC. The messeage I get from ZoneAlarm reads:-

"ZoneAlarm Pro prevented your computer from accessing port 53 on a DNS server"

This seems like a Trojan to me or maybe just a cookie. This is as USP Protocol and is via the Generic Host Process of WIN32. The destination DNS is cache1.ntl1.net which is my ISP and likewise the above IP, if I do a Hacker Search is given as the NTL HQ as the location. In PE however the location of the IP is given as the United States and is 9 hops away.

I have enclosed an attachment to see whats what. When I do a Ping/Trace/Whois PE crashes or just switches off not always but often. Can somebody help me with this and also in respect of this "Trojan."

I also keep getting inbound from the same IP also wanting to access Generic Host Process and the guidance from ZoneAlarm states:- "First, bear in mind that the program that caused this alert may or may not be the program indicated by the file name svchost.exe. Trojan horses and other malware sometimes masquerade as legitimate programs by using the same file name." The signals are automatically blocked by my firewall.

I have TrojanHunter, ZoneAlarm Pro, Norton Antivirus 2003, SpywareBlaster, SpywareGuard, Spybot S&D, Ad-Aware and Pest Patrol on my PC. I do not like the fact that my PC is sending out a signal trying to access another PC and would like some help on how to locate this problem in PE; why PE crashes; how I get rid of a Trojan.

Thank you,

Cyborg.

Attached Files:

2. siliconman01

siliconman01 Registered Member

Cyborg,