pctool fw v6 not recognized in security centre (vista)

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by argus tuft, Oct 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. argus tuft

    argus tuft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    Australia
    I have already posted this on their forums, but as far as I can tell they are pretty much dead, most topics are ignored by staff and allowed to die, so i thought i'd ask here :)
    SInce updating the firewall to v6, Vistas security centre has constantly hassled me about windows fw being turned off, and no other firewall being installed.

    So, I tried turning the security centre service off, just to shut it up, but then Vista hassles me about that, too. :(

    Does anyone know of a possible fix for this? at last resort simply disabling the alerts would do, but it seems that the 'reminders' aren't managed by the security centre itself, so i have no idea how to do this.

    Any help / ideas would be greatly appreciated :)
     
  2. dcrowe0050

    dcrowe0050 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Posts:
    378
    Location:
    NC
    Are you saying that you have already disabled the Security Center?
     
  3. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,940
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  4. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    FWIW- I have PCT 6 in Vista HP and Security Center shows it running. I agree with the PCT forums in regard to their firewall- seems dead. I made a post there a week ago with no response.

    The link below may be of some help in the future-

    http://www.pctools.com/firewall/help/6.0/
     
  5. argus tuft

    argus tuft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi, the link seemed to be exactly what I was looking for, however, 5 minutes after reboot Vista now thinks that not only do I have no firewall running, but it's lost Avira too. :(
    Im not too sure how long it normally takes for vista to rebuild the list.
     
  6. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,940
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    argus tuft, if the Security Center remains bare, try rebooting again. Some argue that if a firewall or AV is running correctly, it does not matter what the Security Center shows. In most cases, deleting that Repository folder fixes the problem.

    If you followed the instructions to the letter, and made a restore point, you can always go back to the way it was before.
     
  7. argus tuft

    argus tuft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi again :)
    To be honest, I'm not too worried about it, as you say as long as the programs themselves are running...
    It's more that the constant alerts every reboot get quite annoying, hence my earlier attempted disabling of the security centre.
     
  8. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,940
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    argus tuft, did anything appear in the Security Center? Did you try rebooting again?
     
  9. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

    If you are only annoyed by the alerts, you can turn them off.
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.