pc tools threatfire

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by iii, Jan 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iii

    iii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Posts:
    96
    if i have avast paid working real-time with malwarebytes is there much of a difference in getting pc tools threatfire? im thinking of adding it since it's unique compared to other security protection softwares

    What are peoples experiences with it does it actually catch stuff?
     
  2. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,078
    I think that you have enought protection, anyway avira will add something similar to Threatfire in Avira 10
     
  3. iii

    iii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Posts:
    96
    Will the avira product be able to download separate like threatfire
     
  4. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,078
    No, as far as I know it will be included in avira 10

    New Features

    * Avira AntiVir ProActiv
    Starting with Version 10, we integrated the new behavior-based detection technology. Read more details under "Avira AntiVir ProActiv".
    * Improved User Interface
    We have revised and updated the user interface. Among other things, we have optimized the grouping of configuration settings for Normal mode and Expert mode. You are more than welcome to give us your feedback on this.
    * Time scheduling in the Parental Control
    You can now set surfing time restrictions in the Parental Control module, by selecting the exact surfing hours or allocating specific time limits.
    * Generic malware removal and the new AntiVir Guard
    The Guard can now repair your system, in case of active malware. Basically, when malware is detected, the access is denied and you can press the Remove button in the slide-up or view more details first, before removing it. The malware removal should now work even in case of unknown, active malware.
    * Optional email footer
    AntiVir MailGuard can now insert an email footer to the sent emails, specifying that the email is “Checked by AntiVir“ and eventually adding other optional texts.

    Avira AntiVir ProActiv

    ProActiv is a new Avira technology for detecting Malware based on its behavior. If there are activities of virulent origin, Avira AntiVir ProActiv blocks them. Avira AntiVir ProActiv completes the existing signature-based, generic and heuristic detection processes, with an advanced method meant to effectively protect you against infection with unknown malware. Please note, that due to its behavior-based approach, Avira AntiVir ProActiv cannot guarantee 100% malware detection. It may happen that some malware is not detected or that some clean files are erroneously reported as malware.


    http://betatest.avira.com/products/productdetails.php?id_prd=68
     
  5. progress

    progress Guest

    Here you are :)
     
  6. iii

    iii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Posts:
    96
    thanks what about prevx free edition? i just noticed it after surfing these boards. Any experiences with prevx?
     
  7. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    Prevx free can only remove some rootkits and adware the pro version can remove everything it finds.
     
  8. iii

    iii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Posts:
    96
    i see so the free version seem's pointless if you have layers of security already
     
  9. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Also, Prevx free doesn't block malware. It merely lets you know that it's present. That's okay, IF you do frequent imaging -- so you can restore a clean image. OR you can purchase a 1-month subscription to non-free Prevx & let it do the cleaning.

    Threatfire is an excellent freebie. It BLOCKS baddies. Gives great protection right out of the box, but is also gloriously configurable -- if you enjoy tweaking then use TF's Wizard or, better yet, search this forum for TF posts by our own human wizard-of-TF, namely Kees1958.
     
  10. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
  11. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2010
  12. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    The guys from PC Tools promised me to implement a new feature of ThreatFire after they have rehauled the programs's code (again from 3 to 3.5 also was a major overhaul)

    This feature will be to "set the SENSITIVITY level" in the custom rules

    So it would be possible to create a rule like

    When a "Email program or Browser" executes set the Sensitivity Level to 4

    or When any process executes from the folders (the admin space folders like C:\Windows, Prgram Files) set the Sensitivity level to 2

    So this would facilitate a per process sensitivity level, which greatly enhances the effectiveness of TF, because higher risk processes will have a higher sensitivity level.

    When that is realised, I will do some testing to get a feel with the default rules (which problably implement above variations which are: trusted source = level 2, threatgate source = level 4, all other sources will be assigned level 3) and either some extra rules or combine Sully's PGSv2 with it.
     
  13. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,078
    Is possible if TF import and export rules? this would be great, we could share rules in files.
     
  14. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    This is a very good question... I don't see this in the Custom Rules, and it's a most needed feature indeed IMO.
     
  15. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Well custom rules were considered a error/mistake of the past, in which cyberhawk failed to be economic viable. Djames did an awfull lot of lobbying to keep them in the 3.5 overhaul. I would ask every body to post this in the feature list of TF. IMPORT/EXPORT
     
  16. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    The last I heard, all your TF custom rules and exceptions are stored in a file named 'General.dat'. On WinXP its under C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\PC Tools\Threatfire

    Ergo, I see no reason why you couldn't PM someone {such as Kees 1958 ;) } & request them to email you a copy of their General.dat.
     
  17. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
  18. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Kees, without me being a thread-miner, what happened to djames? I read some posts on the pc tools forum, one he responded to you, and noticed he's listed as 'guest'.
     
  19. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Threatfire needs another rule added:

    "Please restore my keyboad- it's borked by TF!"
     
  20. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    NOT so similar IMO.

    Avira 10's Proactive is basically non-configurable. Threatfire, on the other hand, is hugely configurable & even enables the user to write his/her own rules. Also, TF has several optional & powerful pre-set rules developed by advanced users such as Kees1958.

    Although TF is basically a BB (Behavior Blocker), TF's rule-setting abilities make it capable of being made almost as powerful as a full-scope classic HIPS. Avira's Proactive is also a BB, but it has zero user configuration options.

    AFAIK, Twister is the only AV that also incorporates a highly configurable BB. Sadly, Twister's AV component is pretty much outdated & nowhere near as effective as the top-tier AVs such as Avira, Avast, Kaspersky, NOD32, etc.
     
  21. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Agree bellgamin, how powerful it can actually be.

    That would be a good rule actually. lol But, to be fair, threatfire has prevented many users from their whole system being borked. ;)

    Anyone know if the new version has addressed slow downs, keyboard problems, uninstall issues?
     
  22. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567

    Hehe, to be honest I've never had those serious lock-out issues, even though I think my system has indeed felt faster with other solutions. :) I never doubt its effectiveness against all malware - including rogues (yes, you can gladly ask me about that one ;)).
     
  23. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    I'm on a x64 system so my Avira ProActiv won't really work... therefore I am using Threatfire in conjunction with Avira.
     
  24. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Excellent combination! :thumb:
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. chabbo
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,074
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.