PC Tools Firewall questions

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by mvdu, Dec 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    Should Enhanced Security Verification be turned off if you have DefenseWall?

    Also, in a home network, should all adapters listed be Trusted?
     
  2. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    well with defensewall you should be good enough without ESV, but having it enabled would still give you that little bit more protection, its not very noisy so its worth just keeping on.
     
  3. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    PC Tools FW version 5 is still wobbly when auto creating rules for P2P programs. Best is to manually allow fi LimeWire. I tested V5 for 3 days and was impressed with the new version. Relatively high protection with relatively low pop-ups, fast effective program. It also has a clean state install like comodo now.

    It does not protect against direct disk access, but seemed to offer most other HIPS protection (phisical memory, hooks, injections, kernel objects etc). When you run LUA or use a policy sandbox like DW, it is quiet good extra defense for a FW (and a decent FW also)

    Cheesr Kees
     
  4. neksus

    neksus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Posts:
    54
    Also set as Trusted only adapter(s) facing your LAN, leave the other(s) checked as Internet.

    If you consider ESV to be noisier than you like, and since DW is in place guarding threatgates, you can turn it off and maybe substitute it with ThreatFire (if u are not using it already) as silenced kind-of replacement.

    You may turn Stateful Packet Inspection on for a bit of added protection, too..
     
  5. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    hmm, speaking of SPI, im wondering, does turning on SPI make browsing and internet slower?
     
  6. neksus

    neksus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Posts:
    54
    It shouldn't really, at least it didn't on a test machine with PCTFW v4. It may not work if used on ICS server though - didn't try it in this kind of scenario myself, but it's a no go with Jetico's implementation of SPI for example. If that prove to be the case, then it can be remedied by using a proxy instead of internet connection sharing, or, even easier, by switching SPI back to default state:)
     
  7. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    525
    Location:
    Arizona
    How does it's HIPS, if thats what it has, compare to OA free?
     
  8. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    OA's HIPS is probably stronger, but PC Tools HIPS is easier to use while still giving decent protection.
     
  9. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    525
    Location:
    Arizona
    Thanks for the reply. I am considering replacing my wife's setup and want to keep it fairly pop-up free.

    Currently: SAS Pro, Avast free, MBAM free.

    Replacement: SAS Pro, Avira free, MBAM free, (Choice of PC Tools firewall, OA free, or Drivesentry).
     
  10. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    They are a close in intrusion protection OA free versus PC Tools FW free. OA free can also act as an Anti Executable program (niot allow to run programs). PC Tools is easier to setup.
     
  11. virtumonde

    virtumonde Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    501
    Does this firewall work for u people?I installed version 5 as version 4 didn't work well on my pc.
    5 version is light it worked with utorrent and strong DC without me doing anything,but i have clear blocking rules for 2 programs and it doesn't block them!!!
     
  12. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    LeakTest says it is allowed, but on their forums, they said that the test is really blocked. Are you sure those two programs are connecting?
     
  13. progress

    progress Guest

    Is there any way to reset PC Tools Firewall to standard settings? :rolleyes:
     
  14. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    I'm currently using PCt firewall 5.0 along with Avira 9 personal.

    But I don't like HIPS any more as I feel it brings me much more trouble than help. Even PCt firewall's enhanced security feature is too noisy for my like at the moment. I'm going to add threatfire but turn off pct firewall's enhanced security.
     
  15. tipstir

    tipstir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    SFL, USA

    That's turned off by default in PCTIS..Still feel that 3.0.1.14 was better using the code injection at least you knew what was going on. In 5.0.0.38 it's silent and if you enable ES then is sluggish at best.
     
  16. progress

    progress Guest

    Help please :'(
     
  17. tipstir

    tipstir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    SFL, USA
    You can choose Normal or Expert..
    Under Settings
    Under User.
    Toggle Normal - Standard
    Toggle Expert - Advanced

    Is this what you want?
     
  18. progress

    progress Guest

    Hello tipstir :)

    I want to reset these advanced rules to standard :doubt: Is the only way a new installation?
     
  19. tipstir

    tipstir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    SFL, USA
    What all the rules out of the box is set to default except for the ones you added (allow/block list). But each rule is based on the applications. You can make your own or edit the rules for that application.

    If you have issues that can't be resolved then you can uninstall the package and reboot. Since FWP creates a virtual network adapter do not use Revo to uninstall the program otherwise "other hardware device" will appear under device manger. I've notice this for TF too.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.