PC Tools Firewall 7 Beta

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by MasterTB, Aug 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,373
    This is with reference to the series of screenies that Saraceno posted:
    in this shot (2.png; https://www.wilderssecurity.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=220963&d=1281755391), at the bottom there's a choice of Yes or No on the right hand side.

    But what I want to know is whether the Remember on the left hand side bottom can be made unticked by default rather than the ticked state in which it seems to be by default.

    Saraceno, anyone else?
     
  2. tookerjeff

    tookerjeff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Posts:
    90
    Yes, I also noticed, at least in the Internet Suite of PC Tools, that the icon in the taskbar stays grey for longer than one would think. Also, maybe it's different in PCT's Firewall Plus version, but in the Internet Suite the firewall default starts out at the "Low" setting, which seems quite silly. o_O
     
  3. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
  4. Morro

    Morro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    355
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I am curious to see whether they will indeed bring out the final version tomorrow.

    Although this warning from the Admin:

    Does mention it could be later...darn. :)
     
  5. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,995
    That last message was for last Tuesday. Hopefully sometime this week it's released.
     
  6. Morro

    Morro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    355
    Location:
    Netherlands
  7. johncage

    johncage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Posts:
    70
  8. Morro

    Morro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    355
    Location:
    Netherlands
  9. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Morning ! Just downloaded and initialized RC Candidate,so far so good...Kudos to P.C.Tools in retaining an excellent app. Sincerely...Securon
     
  10. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    it works pretty well, extremely light (as always with their firewall) but i seem to notice that at random times (so its not a consistant issue) my browsing seems to slow down
     
  11. Morro

    Morro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    355
    Location:
    Netherlands
    For me it seems to be the other way around. With version 6 i hat moments where browsing seemed to slow down, and now that i installed this RC it seems to be gone...for now that is.
     
  12. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    im not comparing to v6 since its been ages since i used it, im comparing to what it was like without PCT FW installed and now with it installed, its not a consistant slowdown, it will work perfectly fast but then at random times i seem to get pretty big slowdowns for a period of time, idk if its PCT FW's fault, but thats just what ive noticed since installing it.
     
  13. Morro

    Morro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    355
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ah i misunderstood then, sorry about that.
     
  14. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    its no problem, but ye im noticing this slowdown especially with streaming videos, they seem to act very strangely with PCT FW installed.
     
  15. Jav

    Jav Guest

    Would appericate CPU times, IO reads/writes screenshot :)
    thank you.
     
  16. 2good

    2good Guest

    anyone get a yellow triangle in the system tray ? & yes browsing is alot slower than previous betas, uninstalled it went back to private firewall
     
  17. Morro

    Morro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    355
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Here you go.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Sm3K3R

    Sm3K3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    Wallachia
    Installed it in my testing XP system.It installed ok though there are leftovers from ZoneAlarm ,Outpost 4/6/7and Jetico 2.1.9 installations..Only one hour of microusage, tomorrow more ,maybe some punkbuster based games ,some downloading things to check against heavy traffic

    What i liked was :

    - it finally asks instead of freezing your PC or BSOD-ing .You can finally understand why connection may not work .Version 6 was always dieing after playing with the settings even if reverted to factory manually.
    -it seems light ,lighter that ZonePro ,latest Jetico and Outpost 7 .I dont give to much attention to the Task Manager info ,it s about the way my PC responds while navigating tru my disks compared to no firewall and others tested.Private firewall is light ,but les granular settings for my taste.
    -no abnormal DPC latency ,compared to Outpost and Zone
    -network latency is at a lower value that with the enumerated ,thing that was present at version 6 and of good help to FPS gamers (along with the lack of input lag).

    What i didnt liked :

    -in XP the interface has the same ugly and outdated skin even if it s reorganized

    -it DIDNT remembered the rules i manually made for my browser ,UDP,port 53,DNS though a similar rule was present .It worked first session when i made it ,but after system restart would not connect outside (Opera that is sandboxed and unsandboxed) keep in mind ,a DNS rule was already made and present.
    On the same rule making aspect i observed that there was a limitation regarding making Outbound UDP ,DNS rule .When i was prompted to set the rule ,on the remote IP field i was offered to only insert 1 IP -"Equals or" option had only one field the other one was 0.0.0.0 ,greyed out and added in the final rule.If i remember corectly there were 2 fields in version 6 for "Equals or".No range available only "Equals or"

    -I CANT save my settings and transfer them to another PC

    If the rule saving bug gets solved i would like to see Stem testing this firewall with the default settings and manually against some network atacks.
     
  19. Jav

    Jav Guest

    Thank you
     
  20. Sm3K3R

    Sm3K3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    Wallachia
    I think the problem is related to the inability of setting the local port ,each time my browser doing a request for remote port 53 ,but from a diferent local port.So though the rule only specifies and asks the remote 53 port the setting somehow stores the local port as well which of course is different every time and in same time "invisible" in the settings.So you are able to do a lot of 53 port settings looking cloned in the Advanced setting but in fact the local port is different and unsetable.
    Unfortunatelly there is no option to set the local port or a range when such an outbound request is made.Or maybe i m mistaken.
    Maybe someone could tell the developer to add local port setting otherwise pop ups will pop up often :) .
    Sorry for quoteing myself :)
     
  21. boombastik

    boombastik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Greece
    I found something strange . Above one hour of heavy usage of internet for example torrents, my cpu start to spike every 1 sec and everyhing lags(sound,mouse).
    When i close my internet it is all ok and they start again after one hour. When i reinstall v.6 pc tools firewall all is ok again i test it above 3 hours.

    All that in windows 7 , p5q motherboard , 5770 ati all with last updates.

    Sorry for my english.
    Best boombastik.
     
  22. rogervernon

    rogervernon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    289
    The release candidate of this version is ticking along nicely on my W7, 64 bit laptop and is playing happily with Panda Cloud AV.
     
  23. johncage

    johncage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Posts:
    70
    PC Tools™ Firewall Plus 7 released

    http://www.pctools.com/firewall/

    Current Version: 7.0.0.111

    File Size: 9,994 KB

    Operating System: Designed for Windows 7 (32/64bit), Vista (32/64bit) and XP (32bit)

    Release Date: November 30, 2010
     
  24. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,373
    Thanks, John! Any nasty fine print to look out for?
     
  25. Morro

    Morro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    355
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Finally took them long enough to release the final version. :D :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.