PC Tools 2010 Lineup

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Securon, Oct 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening ! Anyone tried the new versions of P.C.Tools new apps.Especially curious in regards to P.C.Tools Internet 2010 Suite. I must admit although using their apps in the past,the app features such as Intelliguard with Spyware Doctor has always presented it's own special challenges such as stoppage in scans and system lag. Maybe they've made the product lighter on resources. Sincerely...Securon
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2009
  2. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371
  3. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
  4. Donenzone

    Donenzone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    Looks like it's using Norton AntiVirus with Treat Fire. Good combo IMHO.
     
  5. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    not really... it looks like its using Spyware Doctor + PC Tools Antivirus + Threatfire... which IS what theyre doing lol...
     
  6. Donenzone

    Donenzone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    The virus database is a VDB file which belongs to NAV
     
  7. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    well they are owend by the same company, but doesnt mean ther using the same sigs.
     
  8. Ro4dRuNn3r

    Ro4dRuNn3r Guest

    They use the Virusbuster engine.... :ouch:
     
  9. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    True. Yet the virusbuster engine performed better that PCT AV in a recent test. Weird.
     
  10. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi,

    I got a free one year key. Impressed by its lineups---- then found out........\

    it drags the whole system to a complete halt; free memory drops from 350mb to 20-30 mb as soon as IE 8 opens up. Pity.
     
  11. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ye resource usage seems to be its Achilles heel
     
  12. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    thats only the AV im guessing? since Spyware Doctor has been out for a while and i imagine its their own engine.
     
  13. Vladimyr

    Vladimyr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    Australia
    The original PC Tools Antivirus engine was based on a 2005 Virusbuster engine.
    But that's like saying that the Alfa-Romeo 159 V6 engine is based on an Australian-manufactured Chevrolet engine.
    It's true but it doesn't have any relevance to the comparative performance of the two products.

    Free PCTIS 2009 12-month license was available here (Australia) as a mahagzine promo for some months and as such it has been one of my favourite "lock-down" or repair suites for general users because, most of the time, it doesn't ask any questions.
    However, with XP and less than 1.25 GB RAM, it runs smoothly but everything really slows down. I've got it on an AMD Athlon 1533MHZ backup machine wih 512MB and it's only just bearable.
    Last week I uninstalled 2009 and installed 2010 on a 1GB RAM Sempron 64 3000+ PC and it's been buggy .
     
  14. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ok nice clarification.
     
  15. Vladimyr

    Vladimyr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    Australia
    In case anyone's interested, the buggyness was mostly the non-aoppearance of the GUI. Since disabling the firewall this has not occurred.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. chabbo
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,070
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.