Pc messed up

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR BETA Forum' started by ashishtx, Jan 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ashishtx

    ashishtx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    Location:
    Houston,Texas
    I was excited about this beta but it turned out into nightmare. I unisntalled first defense isr (Raxco latest version) and installed this beta. Everything was fine until i Rebooted the PC and i saw L 99 99 99 99 filling the whole screen. I cannot access anything other than bios. Did anyone else had this problem? I don't want to reformat the whole drive. Thank you.
     
  2. vhick

    vhick Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Posts:
    224
    Location:
    Noypi.........
    yu must have a image backup before yu try this kind of software...
     
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,054
    I suppose it's to late to ask if you imaged the drive first. This is a beta with all that implies.
     
  4. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Which Windows release are we talking about?
    Do you have a rescue disk with MBR?
    Would you be able to boot from Windows CD and perform fixmbr?
    Another option is Partition Table Doctor, it would tell you what's wrong.
     
  5. ashishtx

    ashishtx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    Location:
    Houston,Texas
    I would like to add that i had linux installed once but i had removed it after a while. I did some google search and found that it has to do something with the linux remnants in the boot record but i am not 100% sure about this.
     
  6. ashishtx

    ashishtx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    Location:
    Houston,Texas
    Good news. I fixed it by using windows repair installation and FIXMBR command. Thanks to all the forum members who gave me advice.
     
  7. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    The question remains:
    Are these problems related to the installation of this beta release or not?
    You find out when you repeat your actions.
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,054
    I would suggest imaging the disk before installing again.

    Pete
     
  9. ashishtx

    ashishtx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    Location:
    Houston,Texas
    I am apprehensive of repeating it since i don't want to take any chance. Unfortunately, i don't have any disk imaging software and my pc doesnt have cdw/dvd writer either.
     
  10. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Excuse me, I understand that you don't want to take chances, but in that case it doesn't make sense that you join the beta test.
    Beta tests aren't provided as a way to get the latest unofficial release, they are provided in order to find bugs and errors that are beyond regular scripted test procedures.
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,054
    I totally agree. Also if you have no means of recovery, you should never ever install beta software.
     
  12. ashishtx

    ashishtx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    Location:
    Houston,Texas
    How do i repeat this test? Isn't the MBR fixed? Please correct me if i am wrong.
     
  13. Leapfrog Software

    Leapfrog Software Leapfrog Management

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    251
    Location:
    Northern Nevada, USA
    Greetings ashishtx,

    I would LOVE to see if this was caused by the BETA or not, but I also can't stress high enough how important it is to have a backup of your system. Although we really beat on the software, it is still in a pre-release form that may contain a few bugs.

    When you have a disk image backup in place on your *test system*, and willing to try again, go for it and post your results.

    -Todd
     
  14. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    ashishtx,

    This is what we know:
    Hopefully you do remember all the steps that you took before the L 99 error occurred.
    If possible, what would be really helpful is that you would go back to your linux installation, and repeat the uninstall. Also I would first install the previous FD-ISR release that you used.
    If reinstalling Linux is not possible, then skip that step.
    It certainly is time consuming, but if you are able to write down each and every step that leads to the L 99 error, you would be proud of yourself for finding an error that nobody else found.
    The list of steps, you send that to the beta team.

    Before you start this time consuming process, do make a reliable backup, for example a disk image.
     
  15. ashishtx

    ashishtx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    Location:
    Houston,Texas
    I will try that. Thanks for the suggestion.
     
  16. ashishtx

    ashishtx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    Location:
    Houston,Texas
    Sorry guys i am late but i found that it happened again. I removed beta FDISR and installed the stable version. Next i uninstalled the stable version and installed Beta version of FDISR, this time i did not installed linux. Guess what? i got the same error message L 99 99 99 99 99 filling my screen.:doubt:
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2007
  17. Leapfrog Software

    Leapfrog Software Leapfrog Management

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    251
    Location:
    Northern Nevada, USA
    Ahh, glad to see that you were able to repeat the issue. If willing would you please send a support request to <click here> with your contact information.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.