PBR 2...Done

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by crk2421, Dec 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. crk2421

    crk2421 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I was cloning my Dell Laptop to an external drive, something I have done before. I am using version 10 and the automatic partitioning option. The laptop has an 80GB harddrive and the external is 160GB. After the initial reboot attempt it hangs with "PBR 2...Done" message and I can't get past it. Powering off and on, and I also was not able to boot off of my XP Pro CD getting the same message. I can get into the XP Repair console but don't know what to do, it does not ask for an admin logon, chkdsk seems fine, but bootcfg /scan fails, stuck.

    :(
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2007
  2. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  4. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    Could be the hard drive but since this occurred following a clone it could also have a confused MBR.
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I hope you are correct, Bruce. But the posts in the Dell forum didn't sound encouraging.

    crk2421, from the Recovery Console, try fixmbr and fixboot. Let us know what happens.
     
  6. crk2421

    crk2421 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Brian/Bruce

    Thank you both for the suggestions/links.

    When I try the FIXBOOT command I get an error "Cannot find the System Drive". When I tried the FIXMBR I get a waring that the drive may have a non-standard or damaged master boot table and if I proceed partitions may become inaccessible. I think I am still in denial that this is all happening. My external drive is showing a totally unallocated partition when I plug it into another machine, so recovery from it looks like it is not an option, if I try FIXMBR I risk losing the master disk. All when things were working just fine before I tried to clone the drive to prevent just such a disaster......too much of a coincidence for me to believe that Acronis is not at the root of all this....I am more than a little upset...

    Charlie
     
  7. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Does the BIOS see the drive properly?
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Amazingly, you get that message every time. Even after you have done fixmbr. The only thing that fixmbr does is write new boot code. It doesn't zero the DiskID or alter the partition table. So it's worth trying. It won't make the situation worse.

    Do you have a BartPE CD?
     
  9. bobdat

    bobdat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    316
    Go to seagate.com and download their Disk Wizard Starter Edition. It will allow you to create a bootable CD or floppy. Boot from it and choose "zero fill quick" option. This will zero your internal hard drive's boot sector, which is now corrupted.

    After zeroing it, reboot with your Windows CD, partition your drive and reload your OS from scratch, adding drivers and other Dell recommended software like WLAN, NSS, etc.

    Or, if you have saved a 'good' image of your original Dell drive you can reload that.

    Best of luck...
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  11. crk2421

    crk2421 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I can run chkdsk and the drive is ok.
     
  12. crk2421

    crk2421 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Many thanks for all the advice. My current plan of attack is to get some cables so I can attach the drive as a USB device on my desktop to get the data of it, if at all possible. Then I'll be more comforable messing with the boot sector or partitions.

    Charlie
     
  13. oneover

    oneover Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    Hi,
    I did a True Image clone (TI 11) of my 30 gb dell hdd... it completed the clone successfully but when i try to boot from the clone drive, it gets the PBR 2... Done message, and "hangs" on this black screen. Did i do something wrong?

    When I switched back to the orig drive, it works perfectly.... so there must me some problem in the cloning process? I tried the process several times using automatic, manual (partition AS IS, partition proportional, )... I can not get new drive to boot up.

    Any suggestions? Thanks./
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    See Post #10.
     
  15. crk2421

    crk2421 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Re: PBR 2...Done Cloning Dell Inspiron

    After working with Acronis Technical support and attempting to rebuild my boot sectors I am left with a bad hard drive and an empty External disk that previously held a cloned image. My error seems to have been choosing automatic partitioning....(and buying this product). I believe that there is a bug in Version 10 of TI working with Dell Boot Sectors. I ended up sending my hard drive to a recovery service to mine data off it.

    By using this software I seem to have caused the very problem I was attempting to protect against....

    If you have a Dell Laptop, I would NOT use this product!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.