Password Manager Discussion.

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Mayahana, Jan 28, 2015.

  1. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    7,148
    Location:
    USA
    I've been using it on Firefox 57 for 2 days on 2 different machines. Seems to work as it did before.
     
  2. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,131
    Location:
    USA
    Great, thanks! :thumb:
     
  3. co22

    co22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Posts:
    407
    Location:
    router
  4. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    42,809
    New pricing plan for Lastpass: "Families" = $4 / month (6 users - Premium Licenses)
    New versions:
    Lastpass for Chrome v4.2.0 (October 18, 2017): Chrome Web Store
    Lastpass for Firefox v4.2.0a (Developer version) (October 12, 2017): AMO
     
  5. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    912
    LastPass problem:

    Despite both Remember the password/ login settings being ticked off - they have to be manually reentered each time FF starts, which is a pain in the neck for my wife.

    I have looked high and low - the settings are similar to mine so it should be working fine but it isn't.

    Any idea how to fix it?
     
  6. Less

    Less Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    287
    at FF, disable "never remember history" . Select Use Custom Settings for History
     
  7. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    912
    It's not that,
    In my case - never remember history is checked and that feature doesn't affect LP.
    In the case of my wife's laptop -the feature remains unchecked, still, not working as designed, hence my question.
     
  8. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    42,809
    Dashlane wants to automate passwords in 2018
    January 06, 2018
     
  9. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    42,809
    Ghacks Deals: Dashlane Password Manager: Premium Subscriptions (50% off)
    January 09, 2018
     
  10. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,956
    Keepass 2.38 available.

     
  11. ABaird3

    ABaird3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Posts:
    99
    I have my password manager (Lastpass) set to auto-login when I open my browser. Is this a security risk? It's saves entering the master password every session, but does this come at a cost?
    My PC is clean. WIndows 10, KIS, MBAM Pro, cautious operator.
     
  12. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,131
    Location:
    USA
    A couple of risks come to mind, ie if someone has access to your computer then they have access to your accounts, and if you don't regularly type the master password there's the danger you will forget it. Forgetting the master password can be a real pain to sort out.
     
  13. I really like using KeePassX Software! :thumb:
     
  14. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    3,124
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    What is the difference between Keepass, KeepassX, and KeepassXC? Which one is most secure?
     
  15. The one I'm using can get exploited to show users passwords I've seen the Software. I just have a very bad memory and need a manager lol. :eek:

     
  16. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    42,809
    KeePassXC is a cross-platform port of KeePassX and KeePassX is a fork of KeePass (last update of KeePassX was in Oct. 2016)
    And KeePass is the "original".

    KeePassXC doesn't support the new database format KDBX4 of KeePass yet (the format adds new key derivation functions which helps against brute forcing)
    and KeePassXC doesn't support plugins.

    KeePass 2.x needs Microsoft .NET installed (KeePass 1.x doesn't need it, but it has less features)
    but: "On systems other than Windows, you can run KeePass using the Mono runtime libraries, but you won't get the native look and feel which you are used to."
    KeePassXC can run natively on all platforms (Windows, MacOS, Linux)

    But there is nothing wrong in using of KeePass.
    The master key dialog can be shown on the secure desktop, the passwords are encrypted while it is running ("so even when the operating system dumps the KeePass process to disk, your passwords aren't revealed."),
    the edit controls are also secured ("The passwords entered in those controls aren't even visible in the process memory of KeePass."), etc.
     
  17. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    42,809
    After logging in yesterday into Lastpass (Chrome) i have noticed annoying messages that "there is no internet connection".
    And i am not the only one with this issue:
    But the issue is nearly gone today (until now i have only received one single message :rolleyes:)
    And after logging into into a website the Lastpass Vault is now correctly updated ("Last Used")
    This was not the case yesterday.
     
  18. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,341
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    I was getting that message also yesterday on Firefox. No getting it today so far.
     
  19. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,341
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    I've just started using LastPass a few days ago. Some websites need to sign in with 2 steps.

    Example: AOL just started this ~ Signing in to AOL now requires your username and password to be entered as separate sign-in steps. You'll no longer enter your username and password on the same screen.

    I can't find it anywhere where it has instructions for this. Is LastPass able to do this?

    Yes I still have some email on AOL since Verizon quit emails. LOL
     
  20. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    42,809
    Yahoo is also doing it. The username has to be entered first and on the next page the password has to be entered.
    Lastpass is able to do it and is filling these fields correctly in (if it works for Yahoo then it should work for AOL too :))
    If it fails there are some instructions to save the username&password into separate entries:
     
  21. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,341
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    Thank you @mood I'll give that a try later today.:thumb:
     
  22. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    15,193
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  23. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    5,172
  24. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    5,172
  25. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,341
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    It's not working for AOL
    Tried it, still not working for AOL. :(
    I've posted on the LastPass Forum about this also.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.