Partitions & Local Disk???

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by Earth Tribe, Jul 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Earth Tribe

    Earth Tribe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Hi,
    I've recently used Disk Director Suite 9 to create a c:\ and D:\ partition. Took a few attempts to work out how to get the sizes how I wanted them. Now I have them, I also have Local Disk F:\ containing 46.2MB. I've tried to merge this with the C:\ and D:\ but no joy.
    Any ideas anyone?
    Cheers,
    Peter. www.findmadeleine.com
     
  2. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Peter:

    Is "Local Disk F:" a partition on the same hard drive or is it on a different hard drive?
     
  3. Earth Tribe

    Earth Tribe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Hi Mark,
    Sorry for delay in replying, thought I'd get a notification Email of anyones reply, didn't receive one. Yes, Local Disk F: is on the same hard drive.
    Peter.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Is the D: partition between the C: and F: partitions? Or are the C: and F: partitions located next to eachother?

    Could you post a screenshot of your DD screen showing the layout of the drive?
     
  5. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Peter:

    OK; I just wanted to make sure that you weren't trying to merge partitions from different hard drives. You should be able to repartition your current layout with DD10. It would be helpful to see a screenshot of your current disk layout, similar to the one in post #3 in this thread. When you create the screenshot, start DD10 in manual mode so that the partition structure is illustrated.

    If you could post a screenshot together with a description of what you would like as a final result then we can give you some suggestions.

    **edit** You beat me to the "post reply" button, Paul!
     
  6. Earth Tribe

    Earth Tribe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Hi,
    The C and F partitions are next to each other. Have just saved a sreenshot of DD in word, but is too large to post on forum system. How do I save a gif picture of screen whatever?
    Peter.
     
  7. Earth Tribe

    Earth Tribe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Hi,
    I just want two partitions comprised of all the available free space.The C and F partitions are next to each other. How do I save a gif picture, saved a sreenshot of DD in word, but was too large to post on forum system.
    Cheers,
    Peter.
     
  8. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Peter:

    If you have PowerPoint, paste your screenshot image onto a PPT slide and use the picture tools to crop the image and then resize the image to be smaller. Then right-click on the image and choose "Save as Picture" and save the image as a .png or a .jpg file.

    If you don't have PPT then you could use Windows Paint. Here are some instructions posted by MudCrab for grabbing images from the screen and posting them to the forum:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1042989&postcount=12
     
  9. Earth Tribe

    Earth Tribe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Hi Mark,
    Thanks, I have a copy of Office 2000, loaded that and used PowerPoint to make a png image, see attachment.
    Cheers,
    Peter.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Peter:

    OK! Simple task.

    The easiest way to do this is to delete the F: partition and then resize the D: partition to incorporate the unallocated space between the C: and D: partitions.

    Do the following:
    1. Start DiskDirector while running Windows and choose "manual" mode.
    2. Right-click on the F: partition and choose "Delete".
    3. Click on the Checkered Flag or choose "Commit" on the "Operations" menu to carry out the operation. You should now have a block of unallocated space between the C: and D: partitions.
    4. Right-click on the D: partition and choose "Resize".
    5. In the graphic that appears, drag the left boundary of the partition to the left to enlarge the D: partition. When finished you should show 0 bytes in both the Unallocated Space Before and Unallocated Space After boxes. Or you can just type a 0 in each of these boxes.
    6. Click on the Checkered Flag to commit.

    That should do it.
     
  11. Earth Tribe

    Earth Tribe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Hi,
    I've done steps 1-4 but when click on 4, I get the following window, I'm running Acronis Disk Director Suite 9 by the way.
    Peter.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Peter:

    OK; I don't have DD9 but I think the menus are similar. Your screenshot shows that you've clicked on the entire disk rather than on the D: partition. See if my attached pictures help. I've also shown a Resize Partition box.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Earth Tribe

    Earth Tribe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Hi,
    I've right clicked the D: partition, then clicked on resize that appers on the menu next to it. I then get the following window.
    Cheers.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Peter:

    You're 95% of the way there now. To complete the resizing operation you can do either of the following:

    a) Grab the resize handle (shown below) on the left side of the graphic illustration of the D: partition and drag it to the left to enlarge the D: partition.

    or

    b) Type a zero in the "Unallocated space before" box.

    After you do one of these two things the two boxes "Unallocated space before" and "Unallocated space after" should both contain zeros.

    Finally, click on the checkered flag to commit the change and you're done.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Earth Tribe

    Earth Tribe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Hi Mark,
    Neither method works, if change one value to zero, the other goes up. If then change that to zero and click OK, nothing more happens, have to cancel.
    Peter.
     
  16. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Peter:

    How about clicking on the little up-arrow (increase) on the right end of the "Partition Size" box after entering a zero in the "Unallocated space before" box?

    Or did you try moving the slider to the left in the graphic? There are two responses that you will get when you try this. If you click on the middle of the partition graphic (the part with the label "VAIO (D:) ...") and then drag the mouse cursor left or right you will be relocating the contents of the partition left or right. If you point to the slider at the extreme left side of the partition your mouse cursor will change shape and then when you drag you will be enlarging or shrinking the partition. You want to enlarge the partition to the maximum possible size, so move the left boundary to the left and the right boundary to the right (if necessary) to achieve this.
     
  17. Earth Tribe

    Earth Tribe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Hi,
    I tried both these, the first, "entering a zero" the little arrow was blanked out so couldn't do that. The 2nd, I tried but none of it would work. I then had a little think, thought what the heck :)

    I clicked Disk/ move, on the tool bar, that brought up move D partition, gave mazimum size could enlarge it too. So increased resize to that and that seems to have done the job, I hope.
    Cheers again,
    Peter.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Peter:

    Looks good to me. As with many programs there are multiple ways to accomplish the same goal in DiskDirector. Glad you got it working.
     
  19. Earth Tribe

    Earth Tribe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Cheers mate, thanks for your help.
    Peter.
     
  20. deathofsoul

    deathofsoul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    hi everyone...

    I have a similar problem but what I want is to make only one local disk C:
    I have 3 partition...first partition is called H: and it has a space of 8 GB and contains my program file, Windows and documents & setting.
    the second one is called (c:) and it has 13.6 GB and it contains my downloads and the third one J: which I made from allocated space but no use cuz it doesnt have program files.

    what I was saying that I wanted to make all this local disk into one or increase the size of H: and combine (c:) and ( j:) this will allow me to download more stuff and install w.e I want.....

    so if anyone can help me do that I will be more then happy
     
  21. Earth Tribe

    Earth Tribe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Hello again Mark,
    I was wondering how, what you used to draw those red arrows on the screenshot image?
    Peter.
     
  22. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Hi, deathofsoul:

    Could you please post a screenshot of your disk showing the current partition layout? An illustration similar to the ones shown above would be the most helpful.
     
  23. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Peter:

    I used PowerPoint (PPT). After capturing a screenshot with Ctrl+PrintScreen, paste the image onto a blank PPT slide. Then use the PPT image manipulation tools to make the image smaller, crop it, and then compress it. Next draw the arrows with the drawing tools in PPT and finally, select all and right-click on the image and choose "Save as Picture".

    You can use Windows Paint or any image manipulation program to do something similar.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.