Partitioning USB 1TB Drive and Doing Multi boot Os's

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by BarJabba, Jun 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BarJabba

BarJabba Registered Member

Hello folks!

I am new to DD and TI Home 09. I am excited AND a little perplexed. The more I read on the goals I am trying to accompish, the more difficult it seems. I will do my profile later...I am a developer and long time computer geek. :rolleyes:

I am trying to do these tasks:

Upgrade my XP Home to XP Pro. (after this comes the real hard stuff)

Use DD to partition my USB 1 TB external drive in preparation to:
    • Bring on two OS's.
    • Use for TI Image and back up

I have about 68 GB left on my main internal drive and I have about 850 GB on the USB drive. The USB drive is always connected. I am willing to make the USB a clean drive, if I can ulimatly put an image on it, or at least a full back up.

I want to have a multi boot of XP Pro, Ubuntu, Windows 7 RC. Ubuntu saved my butt a month ago, I am willing to give it a go and at least learn this distro.:shifty: Windows 7 RC is just a test and I am in tersted in it for onlt those purposes. I will be getting rid of it eventually. Maybe I will upgrade to when available. o_O

I have learned that the Ubuntu will be harder to manipulate into boot in OS Selector. I have the Live CD and am willing to give it its own space/partition. I want DD OS Selector to be the one in control of the boot managemnt if possible. I don't want my current system to be affected in anyway. I only want an image of my XP Pro and maybe if I stay with Ubuntu.

I am willing to get another internal drive if necessary, but I prefer not to. Windows 7 has a technique I can use. It's called a VHD. I know nothing about how to do that. I am reading a site that offers a sort of tutorial on it.