Parental control problem

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus/Smart Security Beta' started by ubergubben, Aug 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ubergubben

    ubergubben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Hi im trying to block some sites with the new parental control system in eset smart security 5, ordinary Http sites goes fine, but when i try to block Https sites it does not want to block.

    Have tried to enter the ip adress of the site and alot of other things, but it just dont want to. The site i want to block is Betsafe.com.
     
  2. dwomack

    dwomack Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    588
    If there are specific websites you want to block, you can always do so in the web access protection. Check out the KB article below:

    http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN2123&ref=wsf

    As for the parental control feature, are you getting an error message or are you simply still able to get to the site even when the parental control set to block it?
     
  3. ubergubben

    ubergubben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Im still able to access the site, ive tried all combinations like ("http://betsafe.com/" "https://betsafe.com/" "https://www.betsafe.com/" "betsafe.com") and so on, even tried the ip number of the site ("http://92.52.122.208" "https://92.52.122.208")

    I will try the other thing you were talking about.
     
  4. themamba

    themamba Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    Well, mine is not working at all!

    Added a temp-user for testing parental control on my QA. Restricted to age 14/Teenager. Didn´t changed any other specs & it giving me the creeps. Doesn´t load a single page in whatever browser i choose. Tried a couple of restarts & reconfigurations. No chance :( It´s just saying : Connecting and that´s it... even a vista-like "not responding" would cheer me up!

    regards!
    themamba
     
  5. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    This thread would most likely get more attention in the beta forum, since parental control is only included in the Smart Security 5 release candidate.
     
  6. themamba

    themamba Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Posts:
    2


    guess you need to go the hard way by editing lmhosts by hand :(


    regards!
    themamba
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Do you have SSL scanning enabled?
     
  8. ubergubben

    ubergubben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    I have fixed it now.

    I checked "always scan SSL protocol" under
    (web and email>Protocol filtering>SSL)

    Then i checked the "do not use HTTPS protocol checking" under
    (web and email>Protocol filtering>HTTP, HTTPS)

    I dont know if this is the correct way to do it, but if i didnt check the "do not use HTTPS protocol checking" i couldent acces any HTTPS site without firefox warn me that the site does not got a certificate or something.
     
  9. ubergubben

    ubergubben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Hmm it works half, because if you enter the site throught google it does not block, but if you enter the adress in the url bar it does block, unless i enter the whole adress of the site and not like this "www.example.com"
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.