Paragon Virtualization Manager 9.5 - GAOTD

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by whitedragon551, Mar 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/paragon-virtualization-manager-2010-personal-english/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+giveawayoftheday%2Ffeed+%28Giveaway+of+the+Day%29
     
  2. chinook9

    chinook9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    439
    Anyone know if this thing works well?
     
  3. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Yes as long as you combine it with Visualisation Software like VM or Virtual Box
     
  4. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Kees how exactly does this work. I use VMWare Workstation and its got snap shot capabilities.
     
  5. chinook9

    chinook9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    439
    This comes at a good time for me. I have a brand new, clean validated XP install that I would like to copy and use as a master for experimentation.

    I presently use VMWare but I plan on trying VirtualBox also.
     
  6. chinook9

    chinook9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    439
    I went ahead and installed this on a virtual box to check it out and the anti-virus on the box neutralized what it said was adware in :

    C:/Program Files/Paragon Software/Virtualization Manager 9.5/program/infscan.exe

    I could not upload the adware Virustotal because I could not find where Panda had quarantined it. I did find the Panda quarantine folder but the one file that was in there was just identified by a number.

    I'd like to hear if anyone else has the same result.

    Edit: Was finally able to upload this to VirusTotal and Panda was the only one that identified it as Adware. I'm not going to worry about it.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2010
  7. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    I still have no clue what this does.
     
  8. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
  9. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    So its kind of like a Sandbox, but for the entire operating system.
     
  10. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    I've edited the post, see if it's clearer.

    Imagine you take an image of you HD (Shadow Protect / Acronis / Image for Windows etc.). That image is a file.
    Then you could convert it to a VM format. Then you take this VM file and open it in VMWare. That's what this is about.
     
  11. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi,

    I have a question, seems like a cool tool, but when you make a clone of your "real OS", it will not actually copy all of the data on your HDD (audio, video etc.), right?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.