Paragon Virtualization Manager 9.5 - GAOTD

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by whitedragon551, Mar 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,256
    Location:
    USA
    http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/paragon-virtualization-manager-2010-personal-english/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+giveawayoftheday%2Ffeed+%28Giveaway+of+the+Day%29
     
  2. chinook9

    chinook9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    439
    Anyone know if this thing works well?
     
  3. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Yes as long as you combine it with Visualisation Software like VM or Virtual Box
     
  4. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,256
    Location:
    USA
    Kees how exactly does this work. I use VMWare Workstation and its got snap shot capabilities.
     
  5. chinook9

    chinook9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    439
    This comes at a good time for me. I have a brand new, clean validated XP install that I would like to copy and use as a master for experimentation.

    I presently use VMWare but I plan on trying VirtualBox also.
     
  6. chinook9

    chinook9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    439
    I went ahead and installed this on a virtual box to check it out and the anti-virus on the box neutralized what it said was adware in :

    C:/Program Files/Paragon Software/Virtualization Manager 9.5/program/infscan.exe

    I could not upload the adware Virustotal because I could not find where Panda had quarantined it. I did find the Panda quarantine folder but the one file that was in there was just identified by a number.

    I'd like to hear if anyone else has the same result.

    Edit: Was finally able to upload this to VirusTotal and Panda was the only one that identified it as Adware. I'm not going to worry about it.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2010
  7. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,256
    Location:
    USA
    I still have no clue what this does.
     
  8. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
  9. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,256
    Location:
    USA
    So its kind of like a Sandbox, but for the entire operating system.
     
  10. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    I've edited the post, see if it's clearer.

    Imagine you take an image of you HD (Shadow Protect / Acronis / Image for Windows etc.). That image is a file.
    Then you could convert it to a VM format. Then you take this VM file and open it in VMWare. That's what this is about.
     
  11. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    10,507
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi,

    I have a question, seems like a cool tool, but when you make a clone of your "real OS", it will not actually copy all of the data on your HDD (audio, video etc.), right?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.