Paragon HDM 15 partition problems

Discussion in 'Other Paragon Disk Utilities' started by crow_se, Mar 4, 2016.

  1. crow_se

    crow_se Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    I had 2 hdds, hard disk 0 size 1GB partitioned as C: with Windows 7 Pro 64-bit and
    D: data storage, together with a second hdd disk 1 partitioned with PCLinuxOS at the first
    200GB and the rest (E: 1200Gb) again for storage/backup etc. Booting into Windows or Linux was
    handled by GRUB 2 in the MBR of disk 0.
    I decided to remove the Linux partitions on disk 1 and extend the other partition (E:) to cover the whole disc.
    I used Update MBR from within HDM 15 to remove GRUB and the pc then booted straight into Windows.
    I then tried to extend the NTFS partition on E: to cover the whole disk.
    I deleted the 3 Linux partitions, leaving the first 200 GB of the disk as unallocated. I then right clicked on the NTFS partition and selected Move/Resize Partition. I dragged the left side of the partition to cover the unallocated space, so that the partition covered the whole disk. I then selected Apply.
    The Progress dialog showed Overall Progress 0% (Move Partition) in the header, and Move partition Still preparing, please don't lose hope. I then received a dialog stating System restart is required to complete the operation. What would you like to do ?
    Restart the computer
    Retry.
    I selected Restart, the pc restarted and displayed the Paragon screen. This said that the operation was proceeding, and then I received a message
    Some Error Occurred: Bad parameter of function.
    The pc then locked and I had to switch off power.
    Restarting brought me into Windows.
    I tried again, and this time the progress dialog stated that all operations had been carried out, but
    still received the Restart message. After restart I received a message
    Some Error Occurred: Cannot lock target partition.
    Again the pc locked up.
    Restarting again brought me into Windows, but HDM showed that no changes had been made.
    I would not have thought that a restart would be needed for the E: drive, since this is not the system drive.
    Could it be that this drive is still set as bootable ? If so, how can I remove this attribute ?
    Any advice gratefully received.
     
  2. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,278
    In an MBR boot disk there is a partition set as "active", which is the boot partition. So you could check if there is such a partition in the disk.
     
  3. crow_se

    crow_se Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Not on disk 1. The only Active partition is on disk 0, boot for Win 7.
     
  4. Paragon_MA

    Paragon_MA Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Posts:
    165
  5. crow_se

    crow_se Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Thanks for the replies. Since, however, I found a free alternative that did what I wanted with no hassles at all, I have uninstalled PDM15 and requested and received a refund.
     
Loading...