Paragon Hard Disk Manager Problem

Discussion in 'Other Paragon Disk Utilities' started by Framed, Sep 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Framed

    Framed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Just wondering what has happened.

    I have just built a new PC with i7 processor and the same Sata2 Hardrives, one of these has a Backup capsule on the C drive as well I have created a rescue disk.

    the problem is that i can backup to the capsule but cannot restore from it, I can boot the pc from the rescue disk and when you select the simple restrore i get an error mesaage that Paragon cannot see the Hard Drive.

    I am using windows XP Pro as well i have anotehr pc that is running Windows XP pro as well and this problem is not there.

    Can you advise how to fix this problem?

    I love Paragon Hard Disk Manager it is the only program to do a backup of your C drive.
     
  2. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    Hello Framed,

    Couple things we can try here. Instead of using the Rescue Kit disk, from a machine that has HDM installed, go to Tools > Recovery Media Builder, and create its recovery disk.

    From the HDM recovery disk, run the restore process and browse into the backup capsule for the image. We could also use the file transfer wizard in the disk to move the image from the capsule to the main hard drive or external hard drive.
     
  3. Framed

    Framed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Hi Paragon Tony

    I have tried what you suggest and the following happens.

    I am a photographer as well and I left my SD card in the card reader of my pc and Paragon Hard Disk Manager can see this card when I boot to the CD as Creaed in your explanation.

    If I take the card out and try the simple Restore option HDD tells me that It cannot find the HD and the program will terminate.

    So I am not getting anywhere with this problem.
     
  4. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    Do you need the SD card for the restore process? I would avoid complication by disconnecting the card and memory reader if it's not involved in the process.
     
  5. Framed

    Framed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Paragon Tommy

    Perhaps you did not understand what I mean so let me explain again.

    I created the rescue disk like you detailed no problem here.

    As I am a photographer I have a Card reader in my pC is not external to my pc but occupies undeneath my DVD burner.

    If there is no SD card in the card reader and I boot my machine to the rescue disk Paragon Smart Restore cannot see any hard Drive so closes.

    If I leave an SD card in the card reader and reboot the pc to the rescue disk Paragon Smart Restore sees the card reader as Drive C and is saying you can do a lot of things but you cannot see the backup capsule only the contents of the SD card which Paragon has renamed C.

    I have tried to make this explanation as simple as I can if you dont understand any part of this please let me know and I will try yet another expalanation.
     
  6. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    Hello Framed,

    When you boot to the recovery disk, the lettering assigned to the media is arbitrary to only the session, and does not reflect how it is in windows.

    So if your C: and D: is now D: and E:, it's fine as long the partitions are present.

    You mentioned that if you leave the SD card in, and the SD card shows as C: drive, which is fine because your internal SATA hard drives will be bumped down to "Basic Hard Disk 1". So make sure the internal hard drive is present even if it's not on top of the list or lettered C.

    Right click the partition you want to restore, which in this case the SATA hard drive C partition (now D, E, etc) and restore image. Point to the backup capsule and browse for the image. When the restore is done, right click "Basic hard disk 1" and update MBR.
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Paragon_Tommy,

    I think this is the problem. The only drive that shows up IS the SD card.
     
  8. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    If we can't see the internal sata hard drive, then either there's something mechanically wrong with the hard drive we or the program has problems initializing the hardware.

    Do you recall when was the last known good of hard drive? Did one morning you woke up and it did not boot or did you install something. What happened that led to requiring a restore. Because if your hard drive is mechanically failing, then the backup capsule on the same hard drive will also not be accessible.

    We're basically trying to determine if this is a hardware or software problem.
     
  9. Framed

    Framed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Let me tell you what I have done to overcome this problem.
    First some background.

    About a month ago I replaced the motherboard, and processor to an Gigabyte GA-P55-UD4 and an Intel i7 processor as the previous Motherboard had a problem withth bios , it would boot only to the backup bios and more often than not could not see the NAS which is shared over a wirelss network, the other PC's one is in my workshop which runs a CMC and the other is an ASUS notebook pc which all run Windows XP Pro the other two pc's do not have the same problem as I am having on my office pc.

    prior to installing the new motherboard Paragon Hard Disk Mansger worke fine but since I have replaced the Motherboard and processor it will not work.

    I have deleted the Backup capsule from the C drive totally and created a new backup capsule on the D Drive backed up the C drive to the new backup capsule ok.

    When I put the Rescue disk in the drive and reboot the pC and get to the Simple Restore it tells me again that there is no hard drive installed and the program will close.

    I hope this gives you some background to this problem.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.