Paragon Go Virtual "No Windows OS Found"

Discussion in 'Other Paragon Disk Utilities' started by zapland, Feb 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zapland

    zapland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Hi all,

    I have installed Paragon Go Virtual to virtualize my Vista 32bit installation.
    When I try to create my virtual hard drive, I select P2V Copy, I select the entire disk & click Next, and Go Virtual scans the disk and errors with:

    "No Windows OS found. Please select at least one volume with installed OS."

    Do you have any Idea how to solve this?
    I've just seen on a previous post that for a Win7 installation I should rename the file dcpromo.exe to make it work but it seems that this file is not present on my system... :(

    Thanks for your help,
    Nicolas
     
  2. Mech_An

    Mech_An Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    855
    Could you please post here log files and screenshot of Windows Disk Management ?

    Windows Disk Management screen:
    * right-click on 'My computer' and choose 'Manage';
    * select 'Disk Management' in 'Storage';
    * maximize the window;
    * click 'PrintScreen' key on the keyboard to capture the screen into the Windows Clipboard;
    * paste the image and save it as JPG, GIF or PNG file;
    * post it here

    Log files: find "PWLOG.TXT", "STUBACT.LOG", "BioNTlog.TXT" and "p2v.LOG" in "C:\Program Files\Paragon Software\[Program Name]\Program" and post them here.
     
  3. zapland

    zapland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for your answer.

    Actually, I think that I have rights problems to access the disk management view and that's maybe the main problem to perform the virtualization (the idea was at first to virtualize my office PC to transfer it on my personnal one).
    When I follow your procedure, I do not have anything in the storage view and when I try to have a direct access with the command prompt (diskmgmt.msc) it is not working either (I cannot open MMC consoles).

    I have uploaded log files requestes if it might help.

    Thanks,
    Nicolas
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Mech_An

    Mech_An Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    855
    1. Windows Disk Management issue
    Try to run as Administrator:
    * type diskmgmt.msc in start -> prompt
    * right-click the found application in list above and select 'Run As Admin'
    Does it work?

    2. According to log files your system partition is shown as Unformatted, which means that Migrate OS can't detect your configuration.
    To fix the issue you can try to shrink a little your system partition:
    * Right-click on 'My computer' and choose 'Manage';
    * Select 'Disk Management' in 'Storage';
    * Right-click your C:/ partition and select 'Shrink Volume'
    * Shrink it by 10-20MB and apply changes.
    (that's why we need Windows Disk Management to work)
     
  5. zapland

    zapland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Unfortunately, It is not working: I have the following error message: MMC cannot create the snap-in because of user current policies.
    I think I am definitely blocked with this computer :'(
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.