Paragon Free 2014 will not Restore in Windows Vista Laptop

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by chomowitz, Oct 29, 2015.

  1. chomowitz

    chomowitz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    I have a Dell Laptop running Windows Vista. I have been using Paragon Free (32 bit) to backup the laptop for over a year. All of the backups have been successful. The backups are being saved on a home network drive that have been accessible to both the Laptop and Paragon Backup & Recovery 2014 without a problem. NOTE that I always run Paragon Free in "run as administrator mode".

    Today I attempted my first Restore in Paragon Free on this Windows Vista Laptop and it is not working. I initially tried a VD restore to my C drive. Paragon required a restart. After the restart, it went through the three steps (Preparation, Restore and Mount/Unmount) and showed "finished" for each, but no files were copied.

    I next tried to Restore Files and Folders (All files/folders on the same drive) vs a Volume Restore (above). Paragon Free showed a message that I should do the whole volume because some files had security settings that blocked a simple copy. The Paragon Free offered to restart, so I did and when it came back up, it gave me an error message that it could not open the files and then did a normal restart.

    I then connected the Drive directly to the Laptop (usb connection) and added the backup to the database so it could see it now that it is a local drive. I then repeated the same two attempts discussed above and again, no files were copied.

    I have looked at Paragon Free's log files, but I haven't seen anything that says why no files are copied (unless I am misreading them).

    I recently did Restores on a Windows 7 Home Premium PC and a Windows 7 Professional Laptop to the same network drive with complete success. There appears to be something different that Windows Vista requires for the Restore to work.

    Any and all guidance to get the Recover working in my Vista Laptop will be appreciated.
     
  2. fireworker

    fireworker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Posts:
    277
    Location:
    Russia
    I'm sorry, I do not understand from where you run recovery. With recovery media or directly from within Vista?
     
  3. chomowitz

    chomowitz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Sorry for any confusion ... In Windows Vista, I run ("as adminstrator") Paragon Backup and Recovery Free 2014. In Paragon, I select "Restore VD Archive". Paragon opens the "Restore from VD Wizard" Window ... Following the Wizard, I select "Restore disk or partition". then I select the Volume to Restore from the tree shown, Then I select to Restore it to the original Volume on my disk. The "Restore from VD Wizard" completes with the message that I need to Apply the changes. IN Paragon, I select Apply Changes. Paragon initializes and then puts up a window saying the system needs to Restart to give Paragon exclusive access ... I select the Restart box in Paragon and the system Restarts.

    After the RESTART A Paragon Restore Window opens and it goes through the three steps (Initializing, Restore Partition Disk or Partition and Unmount/Mount Volume). After these are finished, the system reboots and NO FOLDERS OR PARTITIONS ARE UPDATED.

    My system is a Dell Laptop Running Windows Vista Business. The computer is 32 bit and I'm running the 32 bit Paragon Backup and Recovery Free 2014 version.

    If you need more information I will be happy to respond.
     
  4. fireworker

    fireworker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Posts:
    277
    Location:
    Russia
    Please create recovery media (USB flash drive or CD \ DVD), and then boot from it and do the recovery. Perhaps Paragon difficult to overwrite the disk C on which itself installed.
     
Loading...