Paragon Drive Copy 8.0 & Exactimage 7.0 free until Nov1

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by tgell, Oct 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,076
  2. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Thanks!!!

    Drive Copy looks very interesting.
     
  3. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Excellent!
    I feel like the imaging software collector. :)

    [I love to compare software.]
     
  4. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    Drive Copy is very good software, thanks for the links!
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Hi, what is the difference between the two, and do they support compression of the image or not?

    Thanks.
     
  6. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,076
    Drive Copy is a disk cloner for changing hard drives. Exact Image creates an image of your hard drive for recovery purposes. It does support compression.
     
  7. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Why not download and find out? :D
     
  8. DCM

    DCM Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    234
    Thanks for this link. Can't beat the price and gives us a good chance to try alternatives to the offerings of the larger companies.

    I found the manual for Exact Image but not for Drive Copy. Anyone found it yet?
     
  9. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    I installed Exact Image.
    Recieved the registration code quickly and used the program to copy to cd.
    It actually works!It's easy to use and I haven't got any error messages after the fact about "poor quality media".

    It appears that one of the differences between the 2 programs offered is burning to cd.
    Exact Image does that.Drive Copy evidently doesn't.
     
  10. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,076
  11. zorro zorrito

    zorro zorrito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Posts:
    149
  12. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,076
    If you click on the link in my post it should work but it will not work if you cut and paste into your browser address bar. The link was truncated. Here is the full address.

    Code:
    http://www.vnunet.com/vnunet/downloads/2165194/exact-image
     
  13. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    because you copy/pasted the link from the first post. The full link is not shown as it is too long and so when you copy/paste you get a ... instead of part of the link. Either click the actual link or right click and "copy link."

    edit - tgell beat me to it!
     
  14. zorro zorrito

    zorro zorrito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Posts:
    149
    I can't get to download it!!!, it is no problem of copy and paste, because I enter the site direct from the adress on this place, but when I click on Free download it goes fine, but then when going to the ftp it says the page cannot be found, I do it with opera, firefox and IE and nothing happends.
     
  15. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    I clicked the link and it worked for me.
     
  16. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    I also downloaded it with Firefox and Proxo.
     
  17. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Zorro zorrito,

    I just tried to download again with K-Meleon and it works here.
     
  18. zorro zorrito

    zorro zorrito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Posts:
    149
    I download it from another place, I went to tha paragon place and saw it registered, but I don't see where in the program can I "inter the registration key" maybe because I download it direct from paragon?I have installed too many programs in my life, more than a hundred and I have never passed for this, curious.But it is free so that no problem
     
  19. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    When I installed the program I got a registration screen.
     
  20. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,526
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I had to delete my browser history to dl. And beware the file on the home site is a different size (11.7MB vs 12.1MB) than the original link.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2006
  21. zorro zorrito

    zorro zorrito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Posts:
    149
    At last I download Exact Image, the other doesn't want to download, maybe tomorrow, I've seen there's un update for Exact Image recovery disk, I have download it.
     
  22. Reposed

    Reposed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Does anyone know if you can do incremental backups with Exact Image? It mentions in the manual and help menu that "one could take a full snapshot (with compression) of the system partition at monthly intervals and perform incremental backup on a daily basis.", but with no further explanation. I'm buggered if I know how to do it. If I select a previous image when backing up, it simply overwrites it with a new full image and I can see no other options relating to incremental backups either in settings or the backup wizard.
     
  23. King FN Kong

    King FN Kong Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    134
    thats because trial and retial versions are diffrent. you cant input serial in the trial. same thing going on with acronis.
     
  24. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,702
    Hello,
    Anyone else having problems with Exact Image?
    I manage to download 50-200Kb at a turtle speed and then the download fails. Drive Copy went smoothly.
    Mrk

    P.S. Should have read the replies above, sorry.
     
  25. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,702
    Hello,
    Well tried downloading with any which browser, cleaned caches etc. Doesn't work. Any ideas for Ecact Image 7, fellas?
    Mrk
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.