Paragon Backup and Recovery 10 Home

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by johnpd, Aug 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. johnpd

    johnpd Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    Has Backup and Recovery 10 Pro "morphed" into Backup and Recovery 10 Home? I no longer see B&R 10 Pro available.
     
  2. Mech_An

    Mech_An Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    855
  3. JosephB

    JosephB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Posts:
    310
    Now that "Drive Backup 10 Professional" has become "Backup and Recovery 10 - Home":

    1. Are there any differences or new features, added to "Backup and Recovery 10 - Home, (over what was in Drive Backup Pro 10 "), besides from what I can tell on paragon web page that B&R 10 Home now comes with WinPE Ver 3.0 ?

    2. Is the WinPE 3.0 download available to existing customers that own "Drive Backup 10 Pro ?

    3. Or, is there an upgrade path (free preferably or upgrade fee) from "DB10 Pro" to "B&R 10 - Home" ?
     
  4. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    If you check the downloads under your account, you can see if there is an update to your boot media available.

    Login to MyAccount - Paragon Software


    Otherwise, it's pretty easy to transfer the paragon app. from the winpe 2.1 media you have into a whatever winpe 3 boot media .

    Hope it helps.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2010
  5. JosephB

    JosephB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Posts:
    310
    I took a look, but no winpe v3 listed.
     
  6. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    I don't know if there will be one coming - updates arrive in your account without notification.

    I have HDM 2010 Server running beautifully on the winpe 3 media I made - it's not hard to do.

    I posted up al ittle app. in the BartPe thread which will do it . I haven't looked at it in a while - if I get time in the next few days, I will update it.

    This is the pe 3 disc I am using atm: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=278422
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2010
  7. johnpd

    johnpd Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    If updating to Backup & Recovery Home 10 from Drive Backup 10 Pro, can you install over the old version or would it be best to uninstall DB10 Pro and then install the new version?
     
  8. biscuits

    biscuits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    111
    I don't know what is best, but don't uninstall DB10 when you still have the recovery console set to start on boot. I uninstall-ed DB10, thinking it would uninstall the boot manager as well. Apparently, it did not. So when I tried to configure the Boot Manager of B&R Home to start on boot, it can not write on the MBR. I tried uninstalling the Boot Manager of DB10 Pro (through the boot manager console on start-up) w/c messed up the MBR causing boot failure.
     
  9. johnpd

    johnpd Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    I have not installed the Backup Capsule. I back up to an external drive only.
     
  10. johnpd

    johnpd Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    Nevermind. I found the answer in the Knowledge Base.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.