Panda Platinum Or NOD32

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Shaker, Aug 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shaker

Shaker Registered Member

Hello. I'm using Panda Platinum 7 on my XP Home. It's the free version Panda has been offering. Before that it was NAV. I don't use Panda's firewall, I use ZAP. Although Panda has not given me any problems since installing, I am thinking about purchasing NOD32. I've tried the trial version of NOD32 and it seemed like a very good product.

I am not an expert when it comes to antivirus', so I thought I could get some views from the experts here. I am what you would call a average computer user. I practice safe computing 99% of the time. Very rarely do I go to questionable sites. I don't participate in P2P. With that said, will NOD32 have a big advantage over Panda?

Thanks in advance.

2. Slovak

Slovak Registered Member

Panda Plantinum is the free offer one, and it's not bad, I am using it on three computers here in the house, and NOD32 on this one. IMO Panda doesn't even come close to comparing to NOD32. Welcome to Wilders.

3. Arin

Arin Registered Member

dear Shaker, as far as virus detection goes you are better off with Panda. the defination update is also excellent. NOD32 will use less memory and the scanning speed is way way faster than Panda's. if you're not having any system instability or slowdowns i don't see any reason why you should pay up for NOD32. but if you like you can try the trial version and see what suits you.

4. Benvan45

Benvan45 Registered Member

And just on what info do you base your bout statement?
    Try to tell me why Panda is no good......or are you also a man who just goes for scanning speed?

When I try to download the eicar.com2.zip with Panda Active.......it won't come down!!!!!!!!
    You do that with Nod32.....just guess.......it is not seen by Nod, so what's so great about Nod?