Panda Cloud v2.1.1

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Cloud, Feb 19, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Is the toolbar necessary when Firefox and Chrome already have a feature to block bad websites?

    I'm not a fan of installing toolbars but I want full web protection.
     
  2. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Chrome and Firefox don't use data from Panda Security so PCAV may block sites that would be allowed in Chrome and/or Firefox.

    And you can uninstall the toolbar afterwards and keep the URL blocker functionality. HTH :)
     
  3. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Yes,even after the exclusion.
     
  4. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    I may do that. Thank you, SweX. :)
     
  5. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    You're welcome. :thumb:

    And if you need more technical (how to) help regarding the toolbar then we got several PCAV users here that probably can guide you through it if needed. :)
     
  6. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Is there more to it than simply uninstalling from Windows uninstaller?
     
  7. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Is there a way I can download only the Panda Security URL Filtering to avoid the hassle of uninstalling PCAV?
     
  8. ght1

    ght1 Guest

    Yes, it can be downloaded here.
     
  9. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
  10. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    No, it is a very simple procedure. You do not have to reinstall PCAV to achieve your intentions. :)
     
  11. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Comodo's Defense+ gave me a scare saying the toolbar would modify the registry and I kept clicking allow. Do you think it messed up my registry?
     
  12. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    No, the product and toolbar are 1000% safe to use. Every program you install, even Comodo, can modify and insert keys.

    Hope this helps.
     
  13. Bodhitree

    Bodhitree Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    567
    I basically use Bullguard2013 on all high risk machines, and PandaCloud on every other machine I work on, and lower risk ones elsewhere. Not because I do not trust PandaCloud, but because I want the 'extra' stuff in Bullguard (Commtouch URL, VulnScan, NovaShield, BitDefender, BullEngine). I don't like some stuff in BG, no doubt about it - like how it slows booting a bit with the forced update on boot. But for high risk stuff, I find it the best.

    PandaCloud is GREAT on every other machine, especially relatives and stuff. :D
     
  14. Sportscubs1272

    Sportscubs1272 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    341
    I have a minor issue with Panda Cloud now. It seems like Microsoft Action Center doesn't recognize Panda Cloud on my computer. I get an alert that I have missing antivirus and firewall.
     
  15. ght1

    ght1 Guest

    Yesterday I installed the new version as well. Light as usual, I like it. :thumb:
     
  16. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,467
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all

    Panda Cloud Antivirus 2.1.1 - Test with more links

    ~~YouTester link removed~~
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 16, 2013
  17. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Lightest AV I've tried. :thumb:
     
  18. Techwiz

    Techwiz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Posts:
    541
    Location:
    United States
    Decided to replace outpost free with panda cloud free on another one of our computers. Running fine alongside bufferzone pro.
     
  19. robinb9

    robinb9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    219
    also how do you know it is getting updates from your servers? other antivirus programs even those in the cloud, show you it has updated either in the program or if you hover over the icon on the taskbar

    Also I installed the toolbar, so I have to uninstall it to get web protection? that seems strange, why isn't the url filter built into the program?
     
  20. robinb9

    robinb9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    219
    wow I uninstalled the toolbar and at the end of the installation it asked me if I wanted to keep url filtering, again this seems strange, this feature should be built into the software.

    robin
     
  21. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,007
    Yes, it really should be.....
     
  22. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,292
    So I installed PCAV on my dad's pc couple of days ago. Setup process was really simple and straightforward... it didn't even ask me if I wanted the toolbar... was this just me or Panda is now installing it by default leaving users the task to manually uninstall it and remove hijacked browser settings like search engine and home page?
    When I uninstalled the toolbar, it did ask me if I wanted to keep the URL Filtering, at least.
    Installing it wasn't as pleasant as it was before.
     
  23. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Panda Cloud is a great antivirus program, but let me just say I think the web filter should be incorporated into it.
     
  24. ght1

    ght1 Guest

    I installed the latest version without the toolbar a few days ago. :thumb:
     
  25. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    No, but you can uninstall the toolbar and keep the URL blocker :)
    Good question :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.