Panda Cloud Free 3.0

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Windows_Security, May 8, 2014.

  1. Windows_Security

    Windows_Security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    3,060
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Put it on an old XP box (with new disk), runs well.

    Can't find the data protection feature in free anymore, am I overlooking it or is it removed from free?
     
  2. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,190
    Location:
    USA,IA
    It was removed in both. They said they are going to add it back in the future versions.
     
  3. guest

    guest Guest

    Lol, then why removing it since the first place?
     
  4. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Can it be readily configured to NOT run realtime? I would consider using it if it can be configured for use as an on-demand/right-click scanner only. Possible?
     
  5. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    why have they also removed the website category filter?
     
  6. Windows_Security

    Windows_Security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    3,060
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Well, as far as my memory serves me well: the GUI had enable/disable options for real time protection, behavior analyses en behavior blocker (or something similar).
     
  7. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Try Panda Cloud Cleaner instead.

    Mine hasn't upgraded yet, and I plan to let it do so itself.
     
  8. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    539
  9. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    525
    I have the same issue I had with the beta. No widgets and when I try to add them it says I have already added the maximum. And parts of the settings text is not in English, stuff like upside down question marks, 'y' instead of '&'. Totally unusable.
     
  10. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,558
    Due to a growing number of deal breakers with other free AVs, this may be my new favorite.

    And it doesn't seem to have the massive disk i/o of past versions.
     
  11. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,764
    Location:
    Outer space
    Lol, the version numbers of the processes/files are actually 4.x instead of 3.x.
     
  12. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Doesn't feel any different than 2.x. Plus i hate its slow interface. It's so sluggish, with slow animations and everything just feels horribly slow and heavy. Completelly unnecessary. How hard is it to make a light and snappy interface without some stupid 3D animations?
     
  13. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,066
    Is that really important? how often a normal person opens the AV interface? once per week? per month?
    For me is the less important feature in an AV.
     
  14. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    539
    Been using it from the day it came out and can't complain. No slowdowns what-so-ever. Thumbs up from here (y)
     
  15. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    It ~ Snipped as per TOS ~ me off even those two times i've had it open...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 14, 2014
  16. Dave0291

    Dave0291 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Posts:
    553
    Location:
    U.S
    What drives me batty is that the recycle bin function doesn't work at all for one thing. I have two files in there, one file I excluded because the AV keeps wrongly classifying it as a trojan, and one real piece of malware that the bin refuses to clear. On the note of false positives, I have emailed Panda several times about the file I know isn't malicious. Yet here we are months later and they have not changed the detection.
     
  17. Kevin523

    Kevin523 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    72
    I've been using Panda Cloud Antivirus for a while now. I have to say that I don't find the interface slow/sluggish/non-responsive at all. It seems fine to me. The only complaint I have is that it once flagged a Toshiba driver for a laptop (self extracting .exe) as suspicious. It was a 150mb file for the Intel HD Graphics 4000 Display driver. :) I tried to restore it out of the recycle bin and it took a little while, and then when I went to look where it should have restored to, there was nothing there! I looked back in the recycle bin and the file was gone. I think Panda has trouble recovering files from the recycle bin, or maybe its larger files?
     
  18. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,558
    I also find opening/navigating the GUI sluggish, but I'm not in there very often, so it's no deal breaker.
     
  19. blasev2nd

    blasev2nd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Posts:
    46
    last time I felt sluggish UI is on 2.2 but it seems 2.3 solve it for me.
    haven't tried 3.0, but I will soon
     
  20. DoctorPC

    DoctorPC Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Posts:
    813
    Sluggish AV openings is a no-starter for me, drives me nuts.

    I click Eset, it opens. I click Zemana, it opens. Malwarebtyes, and some other AV's have an annoying delay. I won't go for that anymore.
     
  21. bidd

    bidd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Posts:
    117
    Location:
    Australia
    Earlier versions of Malwarebytes were slow to open but V2 opens instantly.
     
  22. Antimalware18

    Antimalware18 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    417
    I myself haven't felt any sluggishness with Panda Cloud's GUI. But that doesn't mean it doesn't exist.
     
  23. Gullible Jones

    Gullible Jones Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,459
    I take it the GUI still uses transparency and 3D flipping? :(

    I wonder if it's possible to turn off the GUI without disabling the userspace engine components. That used to be doable with AVG.
     
  24. dansorin

    dansorin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    233
    Location:
    EU
    Panda free GUI always opened sluggish for me. on all 3 computers, since version 1.51. thanks to the stupid implemented ad campaign week ago, i partly switched to Bitdefender free. then i realised the difference. computer is much more responsive (i5, 4GB) than with Panda free. it's another life now...
    thank you Panda for the irritating ad campaign. in the end, it made my life better.
     
  25. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,043
Loading...