Panda Cloud AV Offline Mode Question

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by iwod, Jan 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    How is Panda Cloud AV different to other AV Solution when it is in Offline Mode.

    If there is no different. Then i assume, the benefits of using Cloud Based AV are,

    1. It only stores Signatures of Virus that currently circulate, meaning MUCH less signature ( Memory usage ) is required.

    2. Since it only scans with a limited amount of Signature, it also uses less CPU resources.
     
  2. pbust

    pbust AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    1,173
    Location:
    Spain
    You are correct in your assumptions.

    In addition to the local signatures it uses during offline mode, it also has a local heuristic engine for unknown malware.

    For version 1.1 and beyond we will be adding more offline protection technologies.
     
  3. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    Any date on ver 1.1? I had the same issues with ver1.0 as the betas (high CPU)....thanks
     
  4. pbust

    pbust AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    1,173
    Location:
    Spain
    That is fixed with v1.0 after letting it run for some time and/or running a quick scan.

    We expect v1.1 before the second half of 2010.
     
  5. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    It was not fixed on the PCs I tried it on.
     
  6. pbust

    pbust AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    1,173
    Location:
    Spain
    We released a silent hotfix about a month or so ago. If you install it again and just let it sit enough time until it upgrades by itself to version 1.00.00.0001 (you can view the version.ini file in the install directory) you should be able to see the improvement.
     
  7. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    Ok, i was not aware of the patch. I will try it again. thanks
     
  8. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    Please consider a redesign of your current TOY like user interface...
     
  9. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    I like the GUI, but the programs still eats CPUs on my PC. It will settle down until I reboot, and then it goes through another cycle of "getting to know my PC".
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.