Panda Cloud Antivirus Beta 1.9

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by pbust, Apr 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. carat

    carat Guest

    Will the beta 1.9.0 automatically upgrade to beta 1.9.1? :doubt:
     
  2. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    :thumbd: Why more popups? ;) And the popups would be a little random. As pbust stated:

     
  3. Coccinelle

    Coccinelle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    France
    I think that the new Panda Cloud 1.9.1 have a good detection just need more responsive Proactive.
    The toolbar is littel bit slow...
    Windows 7\x64
     
  4. pbust

    pbust AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    1,173
    Location:
    Spain
    Yes it will upgrade automatically from 1.9.0 to 1.9.1.
     
  5. abu shofwan

    abu shofwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Posts:
    358
    Location:
    Earth
    hi pedro,I am having a problem with 1.5 that couldn't sign in/access to mail.yahoo.com. will this problem be resolved with current BETA or next release without uninstalling URL filtering ?:rolleyes:
     
  6. pbust

    pbust AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    1,173
    Location:
    Spain
    Did you just install by any chance? This was fixed when you get a silent toolbar upgrade.
     
  7. abu shofwan

    abu shofwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Posts:
    358
    Location:
    Earth
    what do u mean ? install this BETA over the top 1.5.1 ? is it toolbar related too ? or just URL filtering component ?
     
  8. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    Hey pbust, where does it say 1.9.0 upgrades automatically?
     
  9. pbust

    pbust AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    1,173
    Location:
    Spain
    @abu, I was wrong. The upgrade fix for the Yahoo Mail has not been pushed out yet. I will PM you the details of the current URL Filter beta so you can test it and verify if it fixes the problem for you. We've already had a few users reporting this beta fixes the issue.

    @Cloud, it's in the 1.9.1 release notes under the "Upgrade from previous 1.9 version" section towards the bottom.
    http://www.cloudantivirus.com/forum/ann.jspa?annID=50236
     
  10. abu shofwan

    abu shofwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Posts:
    358
    Location:
    Earth
    Just tested it and its worked ! problem solved. Gracias, Pedro.
    Good job :thumb:
     
  11. Aeolis

    Aeolis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Posts:
    60
    Hello folks,

    First, I would like to congratulate Panda software for Panda Cloud Antivirus its really awesome. Nonetheless, I would like to suggest that the files inside the "lost and found folder" must be in a encrypted form so other security software installed in the users machine do not recognize them as a threat.

    And I do have some questions, does Panda Cloud Antivirus web filter works only when the toolbar is installed? Does its web filter work with any browser?

    Best regards,

    Aeolis
     
  12. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    It should work with most browsers. I know it works with Chrome and Opera.
     
  13. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    In its current version, you must install the toolbar first, but after that, if you remove the toolbar but not the URL filter from Add/Remove, then it still works. How it is for 1.9 I don't know, but I doubt it has changed (I hope).
     
  14. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    It is the same for 1.9.1 as well.
     
  15. Aeolis

    Aeolis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Posts:
    60
    Hello folks,

    Thank you all for your help. So, the web filter is browser independent and is not connected to the toolbar. Then I would like to suggest that the toolbar installation could be made an option (I know its optional), but the web filter get installed even without the tollbar.

    And I keep my suggestion regarding the "lost and found folder". In my opnion its a must have feature. Thank you again for your attention and help.

    Best regards,

    Aeolis
     
  16. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    And Firefox...:thumb:
     
  17. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    Of course it supports FF! Thats easy. ;)
     
  18. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    Panda Cloud does include a "lost and found" folder. :)

    Program Files > Panda Security > Panda Cloud Antivirus > LostandFound
     
  19. Aeolis

    Aeolis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Posts:
    60
    Dear Cloud,

    Thank you for your correction, but you got my point right? :)

    PCAV does have a LostandFound (now its correct :cool:) and the files inside it are not in a encrypted form, so other security tolls will detect them again as a threat even if PCAV had caught them put them inside that folder.

    I think this must be changed. Just my two cents.

    Best regards,

    Aeolis
     
  20. aanon

    aanon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Hi Aeolis,

    Lost and Found is the folder CloudAV uses when there is no possibility to recover quarantined files in their original location. So, files included in this folder must not be encrypted as they are the original ones once they have been restored.

    Quarantined files are stored packed and encrypted in a different folder.

    Hope it helps.
     
  21. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    switching over to 1.9. I like the firewall and like the ability to monitor executed processes.
     
  22. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    2,011
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi trjam,
    How stable is this version? Is it stable enough to install it and test it on my main computer?
    Thanks
     
  23. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Guest

    Stable for me too ... and faster than 1.5.1
     
  24. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA

    verty stable and very good. I really like this Cloud Product and Firewall.
     
  25. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    2,011
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks, appreciate.:) Will test it when I have some time this week...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.