Panda antivirus free offer back on

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Tony, Apr 29, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
  2. minacross

    minacross Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    but it's not owrking :(
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Madsen DK

    Madsen DK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Posts:
    324
    Location:
    Denmark
    Works fine here Mina
     
  4. Gigabyte

    Gigabyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    163
    Location:
    NC,USA
    I downloaded it last night fine. My pc crashed. I tried to download it again today and i get the same thing.
     
  5. optigrab

    optigrab Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Posts:
    624
    Location:
    Brooklyn/NYC USA
    Hi Gigabyte

    Your PC crashed during download or during install? The difference in the problem/solution is potentially vast.

    Regards,
    Optigrab
     
  6. Shelb

    Shelb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    76
    I get the same error message as Minacross..
     
  7. Gigabyte

    Gigabyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    163
    Location:
    NC,USA
    Neither.I should of explained more. It installed fine and I was using it. For some reason my pc crashed and the program was removed. My system was reinstalled from an emergency disk. That was the last thing that i installed,so it wasn't on the disk.
     
  8. Weber

    Weber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Posts:
    107
    Location:
    Porto Alegre - Brazil
    i got the error too...
     
  9. Arin

    Arin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    997
    Location:
    India
    Panda people didn't update their software since July 2003. i'm not talking about the database though. i'm talking about the core files and the engine. so its pretty normal that it still have those bugs. i used it for somedays untill it crashed, hanged, cried, did everything to force me to uninstall it.
     
  10. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    In fairness to this 'free' Panda, it has been installed on my daughter's laptop (Win XP, 512mB Ram, 2.3Ghz) for about a month now, with no problems so far.

    Very stable and more importantly for my daughter, it runs straight out of the box with the default settings and automatic updates set. Easy to use GUI and relatively fast scanner.

    For newbies who want 'to set and forget' I think it is a very good program, particularly with the present offer of 12 months of free updates.
     
  11. c0ltran3

    c0ltran3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Posts:
    172
    What Av are you using?
     
  12. Gigabyte

    Gigabyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    163
    Location:
    NC,USA
    I reinstalled Panda.The site is working now.
     
  13. vvvvvvvv

    vvvvvvvv Guest

    Is that FREE version for 1 yearo_O

    If its FREE is that some new version?
     
  14. bob_man_uk

    bob_man_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Posts:
    91
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    i downloaded it last week and have been told to uninstall it and resinstal mcafee (we paid for it so we MUST use it) anyway I was unable to uninstall it, WHY? i ask I endded up having to leave my machine full of holes and non traceable links, registry keys etc, a message to panda, you have a good av but come on you cant force us to keep it if we dont want it.lol

    matty G
     
  15. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I downloaded a copy last night and the download worked just fine. ;)

    The AV is not necessarily a one year and then it is gone offer. See screen shot
     

    Attached Files:

  16. bravesrule

    bravesrule Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Posts:
    36
    what is the latest program version
     
  17. Stephan123

    Stephan123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    The netherlands
    the latest program version is 7.05.03.This is a really good AV i think :rolleyes:
     
  18. Pigman

    Pigman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    381
    Does this thing have good heuristics?
     
  19. Stephan123

    Stephan123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    The netherlands
    i don't know but i think it have good heuristics
     
  20. Arin

    Arin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    997
    Location:
    India
    a large number of false positives couldn't be considered as good heuristic. Panda heuristic is strong but not good. but i love their daily updates. the latest version is 7.05.03 and the date goes way back to July 2003.
     
  21. Pigman

    Pigman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    381
    Okay, how much RAM does this take up? If it's not too RAM-intensive, I'll try it as my primary AV - but if it's a hog, it will only crash my poor obsolete computer.
     
  22. Pigman

    Pigman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    381
    Panda AV - You get what you pay for!

    Wow. This is very slow on old machines. It takes up an amazing amount of RAM and hard drive space. It might be good, but it's too much of a hog to run properly on older computers.

    Edit: Still, it only slows things down a bit more than Avast. If you can run Avast without any trouble, I suggest you replace it with this.
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2004
  23. kloshar

    kloshar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    279
    Location:
    Europe, Slovenia, Bre?ice
    And how can you register Panda and get free username and password? 2 months ago when you typed in your name, email adress on "survey", you got registration code on your email and some details. Now there is no any registration information. Can anyone explain registration?
     
  24. VikingStorm

    VikingStorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    387
    Apparently there is suppose to be an "Online Registration" link in the help menu. It wasn't there in mine (though my comp froze at the end of Panda's installation, so it's like half-installed).
     
  25. kloshar

    kloshar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    279
    Location:
    Europe, Slovenia, Bre?ice
    Hello!

    I don't have "Online registration" in my help menu. And now? What to do? How can I get username and password?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.