Pagefile

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Sherlock_Holmes, Feb 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,448
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Im on windows 7 x64 ultimate
    i have two 500 gb hdd
    and i have 6gb ram [ 3 x 2gb ]
    i wanted to know how much my paging file size be and it should be on my boot drive or the other drive or both ?
     
  2. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    I will choose page file size equivalent to RAM size and will place it on second HDD. Currently I have 500 GB + 320 GB HDDs. 500 GB HDD has three partitions and OS installed on primary partitions. 320 GB act as data storage device with two partitions and page file of size equivalent of RAM size (2 GB) is placed on it.
     
  3. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    leave on automatic setting
     
  4. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,448
    Location:
    Mumbai
    So automatic will have 6gb of pagefile on my main hdd...or should i move that to my other hdd for performance ?
     
  5. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    automatic will have as little or as big page file as needed. is your other hd that faster? If not don't bother
     
  6. ShaneR34

    ShaneR34 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Posts:
    107
    With the amount of Ram you have, automatic should be fine. I have mine manually set to 3072mb for other reasons.

    As for putting the page file on another drive, it is of really no benefit these days. I can't point to the sources I've gotten that from, but that's what I decided made sense quite a few years back now.

    And considering with 6gb ram your pagefile would rarely, if ever, be used....even more of reason to just leave it alone.
     
  7. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,448
    Location:
    Mumbai
    @cudni - both the hdds perform the same
    @shane - so il leave it as it is...
    thanx for all the help
     
  8. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    +1 :thumb:
     
  9. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,331
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Windows can load balance between pagefiles on different HDDs depending on I/O load at the the time. How much real world performance gain you could get, I don't know.
     
  10. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,271
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    I agree to leave on it automatic setting. I always move my PF off my boot drive, but with modern, large drives, not sure there's any noticeable improvement.

    IMO, the only time you should set the PF manually is if you are running critically low on disk space. And in that situation the correct solution is to free up some disk space, or buy more disk space.
     
  11. littlebits

    littlebits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    262
    Windows 7 does an excellent job managing the Pagefile on "Automatic" setting.
    Unlike older Windows which required manual tweaking on the pagefile settings to get the best performance. So I would keep the Automatic setting because it will give you the best performance.

    Thanks.:D
     
  12. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    On an HDD, I'll create a 2gb partition at the start of the drive (the fastest point) and use that for the pagefile, then I'll hide the partition.
     
  13. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    If you want to go the automatic route, that's fine. I would create a pagefile on both drives and let windows automatically balance it based on need/drive use.
     
  14. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,448
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I have put it on automatic mode for now
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.