Own email server on Rasp Pi and VPN

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by InconspicuosName, Jan 14, 2016.

1. InconspicuosName

InconspicuosName Registered Member

Hi All,

I've signed up to a higher-end VPN service for more secure & private browsing, but now I'd also like to pull all my emails off Gmail and run my own email server -- using a Raspberry Pi 2 running Raspbian, Postfix, Dovecot, and a few other elements (following this tutorial: https://samhobbs.co.uk/raspberry-pi-email-server). I do have a domain name. The idea is that I'll still be able to access and sync all my (15 years' worth of) email via IMAP from anywhere, 'dialling' into the always-on Pi.

I'm a little confused how the whole routing thing is going to work. (Still a newbie here!) The Pi will be wired via Ethernet into my Asus RT-66U router, which itself is hooked up to my cable modem, and will be assigned its own static (local network) IP address, with all required ports opened on the router.

Now I haven't setup the VPN yet, and I assume that sending email from my home network shouldn't be a problem. I would guess it would work something like that:

Email client on Laptop > Router In > Raspberry Pi > Open VPN > Router Out > Modem > VPN > Internet

My questions concern the incoming mail:

1. With the VPN I'll have a changing IP address, so how will emails ever find their way to my Pi if there's no fixed IP?

2. Do I have to specify my actual (ISP-assigned) IP address? (But wouldn't this completely defeat the purpose?)

3. Does port forwarding come into play, and if yes, how?

4. What do I do about the MX record?

5. And lastly, if for whatever reason the Pi (or my broadband connection) is down and I'm on the move, can I specify another email server (even if hosted on my webspace provider) as a backup? (I presume I'll just need to create a second MX record, correct?)

Is it actually possible? :)