Overwriting older backups?

Discussion in 'Other Paragon Disk Utilities' started by amajamar, May 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. amajamar

    amajamar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    I have HDM 2010 Pro and setup a daily file backup of My Documents and other items. I only want to keep one or two days of backups at most in order to save space. How can I have the previous days backup automatically deleted or overwritten? Or, how do I set up the program to only keep two days of a specific backup?

    What techniques do you use to accomplish that task?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    I would use Cyclic Backup, and set the "maximum number of images to store" to two. I use B&R Home though.
     
  3. amajamar

    amajamar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    I take it that I can only back up the entire partition with Cyclic Backup. I was really only wanting to back up selected files cyclically... I guess that would work though.

    Do you use the full or differential backup for your cyclical backup?
     
  4. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Depends, differential usually takes as long if not longer. Can save space though.

    I use full for my system, because a lot of changes and defragmenting occur.
     
  5. amajamar

    amajamar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    How does defragmenting affect the backup?
     
  6. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    My defragmenter not only defragments, but moves files around for optimization. It does that in the background when idle as well.
     
  7. amajamar

    amajamar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Does a cyclical backup show up in the archives tab? I have refreshed a number of times and it isn't showing. I know it was created, as I can see the folders, but the archive view tab doesn't show it.
     
  8. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Mine shows up fine, but I use a different product. Have you set it to show all?
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2011
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.